Tavares Biography

This US group was formed in 1964 in New Bedford, Massachusetts, USA. The line-up comprised five brothers, Ralph (10 December 1948), Antone ‘Chubby’, Feliciano ‘Butch’, Arthur ‘Pooch’ and Perry Lee ‘Tiny’ Tavares. Originally known as Chubby And The Turnpikes, the group assumed its family’s surname in 1969. Although they lacked a distinctive lead voice or a characteristic sound, Tavares’ undemanding blend of light soul and pop resulted in several commercial successes. The brothers’ early run of R&B hits culminated in 1975 with ‘It Only Takes A Minute’, a soul chart-topper and a US pop Top 10 entry. The following year the group scored their sole million-seller in ‘Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel’ before enjoying further success with one of their strongest songs, ‘Don’t Take Away The Music’. Both of these singles reached number 4 in the UK where Tavares enjoyed an enduring popularity. ‘Whodunit’ (1977) was another major release, while ‘More Than A Woman’ (1978), a song from that year’s box-office smash, Saturday Night Fever, gave the group their last significant hit. Tavares continued to reach the R&B lists until 1984, but their safe, almost old-fashioned style gradually fell from favour.

Source: The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin. Licensed from Muze.

Filter Results