Yes Ultimate Yes: 35th Anniversary Collection (3-CD, Digi-Pak)

Uncut: 3 stars out of 5 - "...[The album] continued to expand the basic rock format with increasingly symphonic arrangements..."
Ultimate Yes: 35th Anniversary Collection (3-CD,
Get email alerts for Yes
56 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $24.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $1.58 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  359V9
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: January 20, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 6/03, p.117
3 stars out of 5 - "...[The album] continued to expand the basic rock format with increasingly symphonic arrangements..."
Uncut - 6/03, p.117
3 stars out of 5 - "...[The album] continued to expand the basic rock format with increasingly symphonic arrangements..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Time And A Word
  • 2.Starship Trooper
  • 3.Yours Is No Disgrace
  • 4.I've Seen All Good People
  • 5.Roundabout
  • 6.Long Distance Runaround
  • 7.Heart Of The Sunrise
  • 8.South Side Of The Sky
  • 9.And You And I
  • 10.America
  • 11.Wonderous Stories

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Siberian Khatru
  • 2.Soon
  • 3.Going For The One
  • 4.Don't Kill The Whale
  • 5.Tempus Fugit
  • 6.Owner Of A Lonely Heart
  • 7.Leave It
  • 8.It Can Happen
  • 9.Rhythm Of Love
  • 10.Big Generator
  • 11.Lift Me Up
  • 12.The Calling
  • 13.Open Your Eyes
  • 14.Homeworld (The Ladder)
  • 15.Magnification

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Roundabout
  • 2.Show Me
  • 3.South Side Of The Sky
  • 4.Australia
  • 5.New World Symphony

Product Description:

Yes: Jon Anderson (vocals); Peter Banks (guitar); Tony Kaye (keyboards); Chris Squire (bass, background vocals); Bill Bruford (drums).
Recorded at Advision Studios, London, England in 1969-70. Originally released
on Atlantic (8273).
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Yes: Jon Anderson, Trevor Horn (vocals); Bill Sherwood (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Trevor Rabin, Steve Howe (guitar, background vocals); Peter Banks (guitar); Igor Khoroshev, Geoff Downes, Patrick Moraz, Rick Wakeman, Tony Kaye (keyboards); Chris Squire (bass, background vocals); Bill Bruford, Alan White (drums, percussion).
Producers include: Tony Colton, Eddie Offord, Yes, Trevor Horn, Tim Weidner.
Compilation producers: Yes, David McLees, Bill Inglot.
Recorded between 1969 & 2003. Includes liner notes by Chris Welch.
Personnel: Billy Sherwood (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Steve Howe, Trevor Rabin (vocals, guitar); Chris Squire , Jon Anderson , Trevor Horn (vocals); Peter Banks (guitar); Geoffrey Downes, Patrick Moraz, Rick Wakeman, Tony Kaye, Igor Khoroshev (keyboards); Alan White , Bill Bruford (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: Tim Weidner.
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Audio Remixer: Paul Fox .
Liner Note Author: Chris Welch .
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA.
Yes' second (and least successful) album was a transitional effort; the group trying for a more produced and sophisticated sound through the use of an orchestra -- the use of orchestra was apparently Jon Anderson's idea, and the rest of the group, except for Peter Banks, went along with it, as did producer Tony Colton, a member of Head Hands & Feet and a friend of Anderson's. Even so, the results weren't conventional, because the group didn't tone down or turn down its sound. Much of Time and a Word relies on bold, highly animated performances by Bill Bruford, Chris Squire (whose bass is very audible throughout), and Tony Kaye. Additionally, by this time the group was developing a much tauter ensemble than was evident on their first LP, so there's no lack of visceral excitement here, though a lot of the sound is still unfocused. "No Opportunity Necessary, No Experience Needed" was a bold opening, a highly amplified, frenzied adaptation of the Richie Havens song, melded with Jerome Moross's title music from the movie The Big Country. Somewhat more successful musically is "Then," which keeps the orchestral accompaniment to a minimum and allows Kaye and Banks to stretch out on organ and guitar. "Everydays" is highlighted by Anderson's ethereal vocals and Kaye's dueting with the orchestra -- it also features a few guitar sounds that anticipate some of Banks's work on his first solo album, The Two Sides of Peter Banks, as well as his quotation of Johann Sebastian Bach on electric guitar. A surprising amount of the material here seems rather tuneless, but the group was solidifying its sound and, in the process, forcing Banks out of the lineup, despite some beautiful moments for him (and Tony Kaye) on the prettiest parts of "The Prophet," a piece that also contains fragments of music that anticipate Yes' work right up through Tales from Topographic Oceans. "Astral Traveller," as a title anticipates, the themes of future group work, though they still don't have the dexterity to pull off the tempo changes or the brittle mix of sound they're trying for. By the time the record was completed, Banks was out of the band, which is why Steve Howe, his successor, ended up pictured on the cover of most editions. The 1997 remastering does make the orchestral accompaniments work better than they did on the original LP. ~ Bruce Eder

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,240
  • UPC: 081227804220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.33/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)