Roberta Flack Softly With These Songs: The Best of Roberta Flack

Softly With These Songs: The Best of Roberta Flack
Get email alerts for Roberta Flack
84 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $7 (44% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZENG 82498
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 22, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Atlantic Uk


  • 1.The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  • 2.Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
  • 3.Where Is The Love
  • 4.Killing Me Softly With His Song
  • 5.Feel Like Makin' Love
  • 6.The Closer I Get To You
  • 7.More Than Everything
  • 8.Only Heaven Can Wait (For Love)
  • 9.Back Together Again
  • 10.Making Love
  • 11.Tonight, I Celebrate My Love
  • 12.Oasis
  • 13.And So It Goes
  • 14.You Know What It's Like
  • 15.Set The Night To Music
  • 16.My Foolish Heart
  • 17.Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)

Product Description:

Personnel: Roberta Flack (vocals, piano), George Wadenius (guitar, background vocals), John Pizzarelli, Eric Gale, Paul Jackson, Jr., Mike Landau (guitar), Andy Snitzer (tenor saxophone), Dan Higgins (saxophone), Jerry Hey (trumpet), Richard Tee (piano), Randy Kerber (piano, synthesizers), Barry Miles, Joe Mardin (keyboards, synthesizers, programming), Robbie Kondor, Keith "Plex" Barnhart (keyboards, programming), Ed Walsh, Greg Phillinganes (keyboards), Craig Huntley, Larry Williams (synthesizer), Jack Jennings (vibraphone), Marcus Miller (bass, keyboards, background vocals), Chuck Rainey, Neil Steubenhaus, Nathan East (bass), Buddy Williams (drums, background vocals), Ray Lucas, Bernard Purdie, Jim Keltner, Carlos Vega, John Robinson (drums), Ralph McDonald, Errol "Crusher" Bennett, Steve Thornton, Mike Fisher (percussion), Jason Miles (synthesizer programming), Sammy Merendino (drum programming).
Background vocalists: Yvonne Lewis, Brenda White-King, Lani Groves, Chude Mondlane, Dennis Collins, Mark Stephens, Phil Perry, Gabrielle Goodman, Jerry Barnes, Katreese Barnes, Rachele Cappelli, Reggie Griffin, Cindy Mizelle.
Additional guest artists: Earl Klugh (acoustic guitar), Lee Ritenour (guitar), David Sanborn (alto saxophone), Burt Bacharach (synthesizer), Paulhino Da Costa (percussion), Luther Vandross (background vocals).
Producers: Joel Dorn, Arif Mardin, Rubina Flake, Joe Ferla, Eugene McDaniels, Roberta Flack & Peabo Bryson, Eric Mercury, Burt Bacharach & Carole Bayer Sager, Michael Masser, Marcus Miller, Jerry Hey & Barry Miles.
Digitally remastered by Joe Gastwirt (Ocean View Digital).
Roberta Flack was blessed with one of the loveliest, most soothing voices in the music industry. In the 1970s, she not only appealed to pop and R&B audiences, but also fit in with the era's more serious, sensitive singer/songwriters. She scored some of the decade's biggest hits with classics such as "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face," "Killing Me Softly with His Song," and "Feel Like Making Love," as well as her legendary duets with Donny Hathaway, all which have gone on to become standards in the pop pantheon. This single-disc set attempts to collect her best and most successful recordings from the 1970s to the 1990s, when she enjoyed the success of another Top Ten hit with Diane Warren's "Set the Night to Music" (with Maxi Priest). However, this ambitious collection, even with such stellar material, proves a little frustrating due to the omission of several key tracks from Flack's catalog, among those "Jesse," "If I Ever See You Again," "You've Got a Friend," and several others. It does, however, manage to incorporate other Flack collectibles, including her soundtrack hit "Making Love," her hit with Peabo Bryson, "Tonight I Celebrate My Love," her lovely, breezy, chart-topping 1988 R&B hit "Oasis," and a sleek 1990s house track, "Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)." This ambitious yet frustrating collection not only highlights Flack's long, illustrious career, but also brings to attention the fact that a multi-disc retrospective on this legendary singer would be a most welcome addition to her catalog. ~ Jose F. Promis

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 12,541
  • UPC: 075678249822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)