Madonna Erotica

Spin: Recommended - "...largely poignant, reflective, and compassionate in tone..."
Get email alerts for Madonna
35 ratings
Price: $11.80
You Save: $0.19 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  J72F
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 20, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/26/92, p.70
4 Stars - Excellent - "...EROTICA is everything Madonna has been denounced for being--meticulous, calculated, domineering and artificial. It accepts those charges and answers with a brilliant record to prove them..."
Spin - 1/93, p.62
Recommended - "...largely poignant, reflective, and compassionate in tone..."
Q - 12/92, p.121
3 Stars - Good - "...the substance of EROTICA resides in a range of straight-talking, almost intimate songs based, not on an idea about sex, but on experience of relationships..."
Musician - 1/93, p.90
"...ranges from the snazzy, deep house groove of 'Deeper And Deeper' to the luscious, slow-tickling pulse of 'Rain'..."
Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #22 in the Village Voice's list of the 40 Best Albums Of 1992.


  • 1.Erotica
  • 2.Fever
  • 3.Bye Bye Baby
  • 4.Deeper And Deeper
  • 5.Where Life Begins
  • 6.Bad Girl
  • 7.Waiting
  • 8.Thief Of Hearts
  • 9.Words
  • 10.Rain
  • 11.Why's It So Hard
  • 12.In This Life
  • 13.Did You Do It?
  • 14.Secret Garden

Product Description:

Personnel: Madonna (vocals); Paul Pesco, Jerome Dickens (guitar); Danny Wilensky (saxophone); James "Sleepy Keys" Preston (piano); Joe Moskowitz (keyboards, drums, programming); Shep Pettibone (keyboards, sequencing, programming); Tony Shimkin (keyboards, sequencing, programming, drum programming, background vocals); Andre Betts (keyboards, strings, synthesizer, piano, bass, drums); Doug Wimbish (bass); Anton Fig (drums); Sander Selover (programming); Donna Delory, Niki Harris (background vocals).
Producers: Madonna, Shep Pettibone, Andre Betts.
Recorded at Mastermix and Sound Works, New York, New York.
Personnel: Madonna (vocals); Jerome Dickens, Paul Pesco (guitar); Andre Betts (strings, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, string synthesizer, drums, programming, drum programming); Dan Wilensky (saxophone); James Preston (piano, keyboards, string synthesizer); Jimmy Preston (piano); Joey Moskowitz (keyboards, drums, programming); Tony Shimkin (keyboards, programming, drum programming, background vocals); Shep Pettibone (keyboards, programming); Doug Wimbish (bass guitar); Anton Fig (drums); Sander Selover (programming); Donna De Lory, Nikki Harris (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: George Karras; Goh Hotoda.
Recording information: Clinton Recording, New York, NY; MasterMix; Mastermix, New York, NY; Sound Works, New York, NY.
Photographer: Steven Meisel.
Unknown Contributor Role: New York Philharmonic.
Arranger: Jeremy Lubbock.
Madonna released EROTICA around the same time she released her SEX book, and that's exactly what it sounds like. The title song has a sensuously static groove over which she commands, "Put your hands all over my body." "Where Life Begins" demands that you do something a whole lot more intimate (and quite unrepeatable here) to her. The CD booklet has a photo of Madonna in bondage. To get across the album's naughty feel, Madonna dispensed with the pop prettiness of LIKE A PRAYER and returned to her hard-core dance club roots.
She and co-producer Shep Pettibone, who had made his name as a club DJ and dance remixer, craft some alluring bad-girl grooves (catch the ocean-deep bass on "Waiting") while still managing to keep things catchy. "Deeper And Deeper" is celebratory dance-pop (with a brief Latin break that nods to the music's true roots) and "Rain" stands among Madonna's major ballads. There's a strange heaviness amidst the fun, games and bondage on EROTICA, which "In This Life" goes a long way toward explaining: it's about AIDS and homophobia. At her naughtiest and most R-rated, Madonna still carries a message, and it resonates well beyond the dance floor.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,842
  • UPC: 093624503125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)