Donny Hathaway Extension of A Man

Extension of A Man
Get email alerts for Donny Hathaway
20 ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 15202
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 14, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Elektra / WEA


  • 1.I Love The Lord, He Heard My Cry (Parts I & II)
  • 2.Someday We'll All Be Free
  • 3.Flying Easy
  • 4.Valdez In The Country
  • 5.I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know
  • 6.Come Little Children
  • 7.Love, Love, Love
  • 8.The Slums
  • 9.Magdalena
  • 10.I Know It's You
  • 11.Lord Help Me

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Donny Hathaway (vocals, acoustic & electric piano, organ, keyboards, bass), Keith Loving, David Spinozza (guitar), Julien Barber (violin), Charlie McCracken (cello), Gloria Agnosti (harp), Phil Bodner (clarinet, alto saxophone), Seldon Powell (clarinet, tenor saxophone), H. Schuman (oboe), Ernie Royal, Marvin Stamm (trumpet), Tony Studd, Wayne Andre (trombone), Don Butterfield (tuba), Gordon Edwards, Willie Weeks (bass), Ray Lucas, Rick Marotta (drums), Ralph MacDonald (percussion).
Background vocals: William "Mac" McCollum, Mario "Big M" Medious, Richard Wells, Jimmy Douglass, Sylvia Shemwell, Myrna Smith, Myrna Summers, The Interdenominational Singers.
Engineers: Jimmy Douglass, Phil Ramone, Gene Paul, Murray Allen, Lew Hahn, Dixon Van Winkle, Malcolm Addey, Joe Ferla.
Recorded at A&R Recording Studios, Bell Sound Studios, Regent Sound Studios and Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, New York; Universal Studios, Chicago, Illinois between October 11, 1971 and November 26, 1973. Originally released on Atco (7029). Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway, Nikki Giovanni and Donny Hathaway.
Personnel: Donny Hathaway (vocals, piano, electric piano, organ); John Littlejohn (vocals, guitar); Keith Loving (guitar, acoustic guitar); Cornell Dupree (guitar, electric guitar); Hugh McCracken (guitar, banjo); David Spinozza, Joe Bishop, Phil Upchurch (guitar); Gloria Agostini (harp); Theodore Israel, Julien Barber, Noel DaCosta, Sanford Allen, Charles McCracken , Harry Lookofsky (violin); George Ricci, Kermit Moore (cello); Hubert Laws (flute); Seldon Powell (clarinet, reeds, tenor saxophone); Phil Bodner (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jimmy Abato (clarinet); Romeo Penque, Billy Slapin (reeds); David "Fathead" Newman (tenor saxophone); Ernie Royal, Joe Newman , Marvin Stamm (trumpet); Julius Watkins (French horn); Tony Miranda, Garnett Brown, Dominick Gravine, Wayne Andre, James Buffington, Paul Faulise (trombone); Don Butterfield (tuba); Fred White , Grady Tate, Ray Lucas, Rick Marotta (drums); Myrna Summers (tambourine, background vocals); Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Cissy Houston, Myrna Smith, Mario Medious, Jimmy Douglass, Richard Wells, Sylvia Shemwell (background vocals).
Audio Remasterers: Ken Perry; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: Donny Hathaway; Nikki Giovanni.
Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY (10/11/1971-11/26/1973); Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, NY (10/11/1971-11/26/1973); Universal Studios, Chicago, IL (10/11/1971-11/26/1973).
Unknown Contributor Roles: J. Levy; A. Clarke; M. Hencew; R. Davis; Tony Studd.
Arrangers: Donny Hathaway; Arif Mardin.
Donny Hathaway's third solo studio album, EXTENSION OF A MAN, followed the soul singer's lauded 1972 collaboration with vocalist Roberta Flack. Rather than scaling back his ambitions and playing it safe after that highly successful duet record, Hathaway opted to widen the scope of his eclectic sound even more, opening EXTENSION with the ambitious, lushly orchestral "I Love the Lord, He Heard My Cry (Parts I & II)."
Of course, it doesn't take long for the husky-voiced Hathaway, also a talented songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, to mix things up, as he eases into tracks ranging from folk-tinged soul ("Someday We'll All Be Free") to romantic R&B ("Love, Love, Love") to driving funk ("Come Little Children," "The Slums"). Sadly, this would be Hathaway's last full-length outing before his depression-related suicide in '79. While EXTENSION OF A MAN hints at what could have been an even more illustrious musical career, it also stands as an enduring testament to Hathaway's remarkable legacy.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,524
  • UPC: 081227152024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)