COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

David Sanborn As We Speak (Import)

As We Speak (Import)
Get email alerts for David Sanborn
14 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $14.20 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Hurry! Only 1 copy left
Sorry no back-orders
Format:  CD
item number:  JHK7
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Warner Bros Mod Afw


  • 1.Port Of Call
  • 2.Better Believe It
  • 3.Rush Hour
  • 4.Over And Over
  • 5.Back Again
  • 6.As We Speak
  • 7.Straight To The Heart
  • 8.Rain On Christmas
  • 9.Love Will Come Someday

Product Description:

Personnel: David Sanborn (soprano & alto saxophones); Michael Sembello (vocals, guitar); Bill Evans (saxophone); Robert A. Martin (French horn); Bob Mintzer (bass clarinet); Spike (IRT strings, synthesizer); James "Sugar Bear" Skelton (Hammond B-3 organ); George Duke (Clavinet); Don Freeman (keyboards, synthesizer); Marcus Miller (synthesizer, bass); Lance Ong (synthesizer); Buzz Feiten (guitar); Omar Hakim (drums, tambourine); Malando Gassama, Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Cruz Baca Sembello (background vocals).
Recorded at Warner Brothers Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California.
It was about this time in his career that one sensed David Sanborn was getting a bit tired of the formula he was using on his records. However, his great popularity kept him from changing direction much. As usual, the highly influential altoist blows his heart out over a lot of funky rhythms on As We Speak, but surprisingly, he switches to his less notable soprano on four of the nine tunes. Bassist Marcus Miller is a key force in the background, leading the expanded rhythm sections through some pop-oriented material that is appealing but not too substantial. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,610
  • UPC: 075992365024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)