Peter Hammill Over

Uncut: 5 stars out of 5 -- "In breadth and depth, the SGT PEPPER of break-up albums."
Get email alerts for Peter Hammill
18 ratings
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $0.59 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
11 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  32Q3D
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 30, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Emi Europe Generic

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.76
5 stars out of 5 -- "In breadth and depth, the SGT PEPPER of break-up albums."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.130
4 stars out of 5 -- "OVER is a raw work...It is a stark, cathartic experience..."


  • 1.Crying Wolf
  • 2.Autumn
  • 3.Time Heals
  • 4.Alice (Letting Go)
  • 5.This Side of the Looking Glass
  • 6.Betrayed
  • 7.On Tuesdays She Used to Do Yoga
  • 8.Lost and Found
  • 9.Betrayed
  • 10.Autumn
  • 11.This Side of the Looking Glass - (alternate take)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Peter Hammill (vocals, various instruments).
Recorded at Foel Studios, Llanffair Caerinion, Wales.
All songs written by Peter Hammill.
Personnel: Peter Hammill (vocals); Guy Evans (drums).
Liner Note Author: Peter Hammill.
Recording information: BBC Radio 1 (06/27/1976-04/21/1977); Foel Studios, Llanffair Caerinion, Wales (06/27/1976-04/21/1977); Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales (06/27/1976-04/21/1977).
Photographer: Sebastian Keep.
Arranger: Peter Hammill.
One of the best albums ever made about the end of a relationship and the trauma that results, Over is the harrowing document of the failure of a long-term relationship Peter Hammill had been in. With a brief side-step to examine the loss felt by parents when their children move out ("Autumn"), Hammill exposes feelings of guilt, rage, betrayal, attempts at understanding, and attempts at healing. From the self-recrimination of the furious "Crying Wolf," to the angry lashing out of "Time Heals," through the heart-wrenching sadness of "This Side Of The Looking Glass" (with Hammill turning in a beautiful vocal performance against an orchestral setting), to the extremely tentative healing steps of "Lost And Found" (which includes a middle eighth that concludes "La Rossa" from Van Der Graaf Generator's Still Life, but in a cynical way), the songs avoid compromise and simplicity, making this a sometimes difficult listening experience; the lyrics are often bitterly clever and cutting. Beautifully produced, Over is Peter Hammill at his musical and lyrical best. ~ Steven McDonald

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 118,641
  • UPC: 094637051429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)