Barbara Acklin Seven Days of Night

Get email alerts for Barbara Acklin
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $1.49 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  6YFXA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: August 16, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Raggedy Ride
  • 2.Go With Love
  • 3.Seven Days Of Night
  • 4.Just Ain't No Love
  • 5.Where Would I Go
  • 6.Am I The Same Girl

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Until You Return
  • 2.This Girl's In Love With You
  • 3.Here Is A Heart
  • 4.Mr. Sunshine (Where Is My Shadow)
  • 5.Love Had Come To Stay

Product Description:

Brunswick rarely did right by Barbara Acklin. With her remarkable "Am I the Same Girl" poised for chart triumph, the label stripped away her potent vocals, added a piano, and released the track as the Young-Holt Unlimited instrumental "Soulful Strut," which proved a massive hit in its own right. The original "Am I the Same Girl" is the centerpiece of Acklin's sophomore LP, Seven Days of Night, and while it remains a high-water mark of Chicago soul, much of the album maintains a similar level of excellence. The over-production and reliance on ill-suited and clich‚d cover material that hampers her later Brunswick efforts is absent here. Most of the songs instead originate from the pen of the Chi-Lites' Eugene Record, whose nuanced melodies and sublime arrangements (in particular the transcendent "Here Is a Heart") fit Acklin's soulful vocals like a glove. ~ Jason Ankeny

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014797899124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)