James Taylor Quartet A Bigger Picture (2-CD)

Get email alerts for James Taylor Quartet
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6YFY6
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 20, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Believe
  • 2.Leads Me Back To You
  • 3.Decoding The Pyramids
  • 4.Send Me
  • 5.Living

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Chasing Dragons
  • 2.Can't Buy Joy
  • 3.First Time
  • 4.Outta Sight

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Change Your Mind
  • 2.Starship
  • 3.Tko
  • 4.Mr C

Product Description:

Personnel: James Taylor (Fender Rhodes piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, programming, background vocals); Yvonne Yanney (vocals); John Willmott (saxophone, flute); Dom Glover (trumpet); Roy Ayers (vibraphone); Neil Robinson (organ, drums); Matt Schwartz (keyboards, programming); David Taylor, Dominic Green (guitar); Gary Crockett (bass); Andy Gangadi (drums); Matthew McLaughlin, Peter Beckman (percussion); Jo Cang, Donna Gardier, Colin Vassel (background vocals).
Producers: James Taylor, Matt Schwartz, David Taylor.
Engineers include: Steve Orchard, Rafe McKenna, Dave Pemberton.
The Bigger Picture is a polished production performed by the legendary James Taylor Quartet. This is the 12th release in the quartet's 15-year career and should embrace both new and old fans because of their savory mix of funk, soul, jazz, and groove that is brought to life by excellent arrangements and a brand new singer, Yvonne Yaney. Along with additional help from a master of the vibes, Roy Ayers, the James Taylor Quartet consistently evokes their modern groove on 13 songs -- 12 of them either written or co-written by Taylor. Taylor's brand of funk on Bobby Womack's "TKO" is given a fresh treatment with Yaney's smooth vocals. "Chasing Dragons" is a synth smash, with excellent keyboards and organ by Taylor rounded out by excellent solos from John Willmott on flute and Don Glover on trumpet. On the final three selections, labeled "The Smaller Picture," Taylor provides a generous anointment of synthesized sounds on "Decoding the Pyramids," "First Time," and "Change Your Mind." ~ Paula Edelstein

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014797900417
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)