George Michael Faith

Rolling Stone: 4 Stars - Excellent - Ranked #84 in the 100 Best Albums of The Eighties survey.
Get email alerts for George Michael
180 ratings
SALE: $6.98
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSSP 40867
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1987
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.68
4 stars out of 5 -- "The album holds up as one of the Eighties' smartest megapop statements, full of passion and surefire hooks."
Rolling Stone
4 Stars - Excellent - Ranked #84 in the 100 Best Albums of The Eighties survey.
Spin - p.84
"George actually had an album top the U.S. R&B chart. And what a crafty platter it was."
Uncut - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "Jazz, Latin and funky flourishes thrived alongside his unique hybrids..."
Pitchfork (Website) - "Even through the dense programming, Michael's voice remains at the center of the record. It always shapeshifts beyond its form..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.87
4 stars out of 5 -- "It's the seamless blend of radio-friendly pop, slick R&B and the occasional jazz shapes that impresses..."


  • 1.Faith
  • 2.Father Figure
  • 3.I Want Your Sex (Pts. 1 & 2)
  • 4.One More Try
  • 5.Hard Day
  • 6.Hand To Mouth
  • 7.Look At Your Hands
  • 8.Monkey
  • 9.Kissing A Fool
  • 10.Hard Day (Shep Pettibone Remix)
  • 11.A Last Request (I Want Your Sex Pt. 3)

Product Description:

Personnel: George Michael (vocals, various instruments); Hugh Burns, Lord Monty, Lee Fothergill, J.J. Belle, Roddy Matthews, Robert Ahwai (guitar); John Altman, Mark Chandler, Steve Waterman, Malcolm Griffiths, Jamie Talbot, Steve Sidwell, Paul Spong, Rick Taylor (horns); Chris Cameron (organ, piano, keyboards); Betsy Cook, Danny Schogger (keyboards); Deon Estus (bass); Ian Thomas (drums); Andy Duncan (percussion); Shirley Lewis, Chris Cameron (backing vocals).
Recorded at PUK Studios, Denmark and Sarm West Studios, London, England in 1987.
Recorded at Puk Studios, Denmark and Sarm West Studios, London, England in 1987.
Before Faith George Michael was, to the record buyer, one half (or more) of Wham!, with its trite pop material and sexy teen image. Faith was crafted to establish him as a mature artist and serious lyricist, and it accomplished exactly that. Having had two years in gestation, it sold over 10 million copies and launched Michael's new personal and artistic image. 'I Want Your Sex' was a guaranteed number 1 hit after being widely banned, and was followed by five more hit singles. Although now seeming dated by its club-style production and spoilt by some embarrassing lyrics, it nevertheless marked the emergence of a major pop talent for the 90s.
Personnel: George Michael (vocals, keyboards, background vocals); Robert Ahwai, Lord Monty, Hugh Burns, J.J. Belle , Roddy Matthews, Lee Fothergill (guitar); Steve Waterman, Mark Chandler, Jamie Talbot, John Altman, Richard Taylor , Rick Taylor, Steve Sidwell, Malcolm Griffiths, Paul Spong (horns); Chris Cameron (piano, organ, keyboards, background vocals); Danny Schogger, Betsy Cook (keyboards); Ian Thomas (drums); Andy Duncan (percussion); Shirley Lewis (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: Shep Pettibone; Steve Peck.
Recording information: P U K Studios, Denmark (1987); Puk Studios, Denmark (1987); Sarm West Studios, London, England (1987).
Photographers: Brian Aris; Russell Young; Shep Pettibone.
Unknown Contributor Role: Paul Gomersall.
Arranger: George Michael.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,283
  • UPC: 074644086720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)