B.B. King Gold (2-CD)

Gold (2-CD)
Get email alerts for B.B. King
4 ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34XA2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 27, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Geffen Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.How Blue Can You Get?
  • 2.Sneakin' Around
  • 3.Help The Poor
  • 4.Stop Leading Me On
  • 5.Never Trust A Woman
  • 6.Every Day I Have The Blues (Live at The Regal)
  • 7.Sweet Little Angel (Live at The Regal)
  • 8.All Over Again
  • 9.Don't Answer The Door
  • 10.Gambler's Blues
  • 11.Sweet Sixteen, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 12.Paying The Cost To Be The Boss
  • 13.Lucille
  • 14.Why I Sing The Blues
  • 15.Please Accept My Love
  • 16.The Thrill Is Gone
  • 17.Nobody Loves Me But My Mother
  • 18.Hummingbird
  • 19.Chains And Things

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ain't Nobody Home
  • 2.Ghetto Woman
  • 3.I Got Some Help I Don't Need
  • 4.Guess Who
  • 5.To Know You Is To Love You
  • 6.I Like To Live The Love
  • 7.Let The Good Times Roll
  • 8.Never Make A Move Too Soon
  • 9.Better Not Look Down
  • 10.There Must Be A Better World Somewhere
  • 11.Into The Night
  • 12.When Love Comes To Town (with U2)
  • 13.Call It Stormy Monday (with Albert Collins)
  • 14.Playin' With My Friends (with Robert Cray)
  • 15.I'll Survive

Product Description:

The two-disc GOLD compilation series does its usual superb job with B.B. KING--GOLD. Summing up the blues icon's sprawling, decades-spanning catalogue is no easy task, and the good folks at Geffen deserve all the more credit for pulling together this fine representative sampling. Arranged chronologically, GOLD limits its scope somewhat by beginning with the early 1960s (King began recording in 1949) and stopping in 1999 (though there is ample opportunity for selections on either side of those demarcations).
But whether it's the classy, soulful "How Blue Can You Get?"; the smoking, horn-driven "The Thrill Is Gone"; or his collaboration with U2 on "When Love Comes to Town," what stands out is King's passionate singing and the crying brilliance of his six-string wizardry. GOLD includes many of King's best known tunes ("Lucille" and "Every Day I Have the Blues," for example), but there are enough lesser-known gems among the 34 tracks to give a richly detailed portrait of this genre-defining genius. Neither overwhelming nor too-skimpy, GOLD bests most King compilations on the market.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 64,574
  • UPC: 602498551257
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)