Fats Domino The Legendary Imperial Recordings - "They Call Me the Fat Man..." (4-CD Box Set)

4-CD box set contains 100 classic recordings -- all digitally remastered -- plus an 88-page 4-color book
The Legendary Imperial Recordings - "They Call Me
Get email alerts for Fats Domino
21 ratings
CYBER WEEK SALE: $25.95 Limited Time Only
List Price: $52.98
You Save: $27.03 (51% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  ZCAP 96784
on most orders of $60+
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: December 1, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Capitol

Description by OLDIES.com:

This 4-CD box set contains 100 classic recordings, many available for the first time in originally recorded stereo. All tracks are digitally remastered. Also includes an 88-page 4-color book featuring extensive liner notes, complete track annotations and historical never-before-seen photos. Please note, this specially-priced clearance item has been marked by the manufacturer for one-way sale, and therefore has a small drill hole in the product barcode on the rear of the box.

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 1/92, p.77
Blue Light Special - "...this rotund genius simply radiated charm, blending rippling New Orleans piano and warm, cuddly vocals....an all-purpose entertainer..Domino's impact was enormous..."
Down Beat - 2/92, p.47
5 Stars - Excellent.
Musician - 1/92, p.89
"...fresh and timeless--not just classic rock, but classical....Gently rippling piano, a braised vocal, riffing brass and a backbeat you can't lose..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Fat Man
  • 2.She's My Baby
  • 3.Little Bee
  • 4.Boogie Woogie Baby
  • 5.Hey! La Bas Boogie
  • 6.Every Night About This Time
  • 7.Careless Love
  • 8.Don't Lie To Me
  • 9.Goin' Home
  • 10.Mardi Gras In New Orleans
  • 11.Going To The River
  • 12.Swanee River Hop
  • 13.Please Don't Leave Me
  • 14.Domino Stomp (Twistin' The Stomp)
  • 15.Rose Mary (Version #2)
  • 16.Where Did You Stay
  • 17.You Can Pack Your Suitcase
  • 18.Love Me
  • 19.I Know
  • 20.Don't You Know
  • 21.All By Myself
  • 22.Ain't It A Shame
  • 23.La-La (Version #1)
  • 24.Blue Monday
  • 25.Poor Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Can't Go On (Rosalie)
  • 2.I'm In Love Again
  • 3.Bo Weevil
  • 4.Don't Blame It On Me
  • 5.If You Need Me (Version #2)
  • 6.So Long
  • 7.My Blue Heaven
  • 8.Ida Jane
  • 9.When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  • 10.What's The Reason I'm Not Pleasing You
  • 11.Set Me Free
  • 12.Blueberry Hill
  • 13.Honey Chile
  • 14.I'm Walkin'
  • 15.What Will I Tell My Heart
  • 16.My Happiness
  • 17.Don't Deceive Me
  • 18.The Rooster Song
  • 19.Telling Lies
  • 20.It's You I Love
  • 21.Valley Of Tears
  • 22.Wait And See
  • 23.Sailor Boy
  • 24.The Big Beat
  • 25.Little Mary

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.When I See You
  • 2.I Still Love You
  • 3.I Want You To Know
  • 4.Yes, My Darling
  • 5.Don't You Know I Love You
  • 6.Sick And Tired
  • 7.No, No (The River)
  • 8.I'm Gonna Be A Wheel Someday
  • 9.Whole Lotta Loving
  • 10.Darktown Strutters' Ball
  • 11.Margie (Version #2)
  • 12.I Hear You Knocking
  • 13.Lil' Liza Jane
  • 14.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 15.Country Boy
  • 16.I'm Ready
  • 17.I Want To Walk You Home
  • 18.I've Been Around
  • 19.Be My Guest
  • 20.Tell Me That You Love Me
  • 21.Walking To New Orleans
  • 22.Don't Come Knockin'
  • 23.La-La (Version #2)
  • 24.Put Your Arms Around Me Honey
  • 25.Three Nights A Week

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Shu Rah
  • 2.My Girl Josephine
  • 3.Natural Born Lover
  • 4.Ain't That Just Like A Woman
  • 5.It Keeps Rainin'
  • 6.What A Price
  • 7.Fell In Love On Monday
  • 8.Bad Luck And Trouble
  • 9.Good Hearted Man
  • 10.One Night
  • 11.You Win Again
  • 12.Let The Four Winds Blow
  • 13.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 14.What A Party
  • 15.Rockin' Bicycle
  • 16.Did You Ever See A Dream Walking
  • 17.Birds And Bees
  • 18.Jambalaya (On The Bayou)
  • 19.Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
  • 20.Stop The Clock
  • 21.My Real Name
  • 22.Hum Diddy Doo
  • 23.I Want To Go Home
  • 24.Dance With Mr. Domino
  • 25.Nothing New (Same Old Thing)

Product Description:

THEY CALL ME THE FAT MAN documents the first fourteen years of Fats Domino's recording career. The 84-page book included in the set contains an extensive essay on the artist's career, various remembrances, track annotations, a Fats Domino Imperial Records sessionography, a Domino discography (singles, EPs and LPs) for the Imperial and United Artist labels and their subsidiaries, and many historical photographs and poster reproductions.
Personnel includes: Fats Domino (piano, vocals); Ernest McLean (guitar); Harrison Verret (banjo); Joe Harris (alto saxophone); Lee Allen, Herbert Hardesty, Clarence Hall, Alvin "Red" Tyler (tenor saxophone); Dave Bartholomew (trumpet); Earl Palmer (drums).
Producers: Dave Bartholomew, Al Young.
Compilation producer: Ron Furmanek.
Recorded at J&M and Cosimo Recording Studios, New Orleans, Louisiana, and Master Recorders and Radio Recorders, Los Angeles, California between 1949 and 1962. Includes liner notes by Jeff Hannusch, Adam Block, Steve Kolanjian, and Ron Furmanek.
Personnel: Fats Domino (vocals, piano).
If you can't quite finance the Bear Family box, this four-disc compilation is the next best thing; an even 100 of the best Imperial sides, including a great many from 1958 on that turn up in crystal-clear stereo (as they also do on the Bear Family package). All the hits are aboard, along with a nice cross section of the important non-hits. The saxes (usually including Herb Hardesty and sometimes Lee Allen) roar with typical Crescent City power, Fats rolls the ivories, and magic happens -- over and over again! Another nice booklet with plenty of photos (but a less detailed discography without sideman credits). ~ Bill Dahl


Imperial Records | Boogie-Woogie Piano | New Orleans Musicians | The Fat Man | Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductee
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,160
  • UPC: 077779678426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)