Mahavishnu Orchestra The Inner Mounting Flame / Birds of Fire / Between Nothingness and Eternity / Apocalypse / Visions of the Emerald Beyond (5-CD)

Get email alerts for Mahavishnu Orchestra
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $1.99 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  6K3RA
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: October 6, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Columbia/Legacy Euro

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Meeting Of The Spirits
  • 2.Dawn
  • 3.The Noonward Race
  • 4.A Lotus on Irish Streams
  • 5.Vital Transformation
  • 6.The Dance of Maya
  • 7.You Know You Know
  • 8.Awakening

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Birds Of Fire
  • 2.Miles Beyond
  • 3.Celestial Terrestrial Commuters
  • 4.Sapphire Bullets of Pure Love
  • 5.Thousand Island Park
  • 6.Hope
  • 7.One Word
  • 8.Sanctuary
  • 9.Open Country Joy
  • 10.Resolution

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Thrilogy: Sunlit Path / La Mere de La Mer / Tomorrow's Story Not the Same - (live)
  • 2.Sister Andrea - (live)
  • 3.Dream - (live)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Power Of Love
  • 2.Vision Is a Naked Sword
  • 3.Smile of the Beyond
  • 4.Wings Of The Karma
  • 5.Hymn To Him

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.The Eternity's Breath, Pt. 1
  • 2.The Eternity's Breath, Pt. 2
  • 3.Lila's Dance
  • 4.Can't Stand Your Funk
  • 5.Pastoral
  • 6.Faith
  • 7.Cosmic Strut
  • 8.If I Could See
  • 9.Be Happy
  • 10.Earth Ship
  • 11.Pegasus
  • 12.Opus 1
  • 13.On The Way Home To Earth

Product Description:

Recording information: Air Studios, London, England (08/1973-03/1977); Central Park (08/1973-03/1977).
In the heyday of early-'70s jazz-rock fusion, John McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra ruled the roost. This CD collects the first five, and most important albums of the group, showcasing their evolution from the quintet that did the first three LPs, and the personnel changes and texture expansions that further cemented McLaughlin's vision. Inner Mounting Flame and Birds of Fire were groundbreaking efforts, while Between Nothingness & Eternity was a flawed live recording in New York City's Central Park as the band was about to split up. Violinist Jean-Luc Ponty replaced Jerry Goodman, the rhythm section was completely revamped, and orchestral settings were added to Apocalypse and Visions of the Emerald Beyond. This is a fine early view of a band that changed the face of modern jazz music, and this collection perfectly showcases the transition they made prior to their final dissolution. ~ Michael G. Nastos

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 95,531
  • UPC: 886971725322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)