Village People Best of The Village People

Best of The Village People
Get email alerts for Village People
31 ratings
Price: $11.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
11 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  YYD7
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: March 22, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Mercury


  • 1.Y.M.C.A.
  • 2.Macho Man [12" Version]
  • 3.Can't Stop the Music
  • 4.San Francisco (You've Got Me)
  • 5.In Hollywood (Everybody Is a Star)
  • 6.Ready for the 80's [12" Version]
  • 7.Key West
  • 8.In the Navy
  • 9.Fire Island
  • 10.Go West [12" Version]
  • 11.Village People
  • 12.Hot Cop
  • 13.In the Navy [12" Version]
  • 14.Y.M.C.A. [12" Version]

Product Description:

Village People: Victor "Policeman" Willis, Ray "Policeman" Simpson (vocals); Felipe "Indian Chief" Rose, David "Construction Worker" Hodo, Glenn "Biker" Hughes, Randy "Cowboy" Jones, Alexander "The G.I." Briley (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Horace Ott (conductor).
Producer: Jacques Morali.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Includes liner notes by Wayne Edwards.
Personnel: Victor Willis (vocals).
Audio Mixers: Michael Hutchinson; Horace Ott; J?rgen Koppers.
Liner Note Author: Wayne Edwards.
Unknown Contributor Roles: David Hodo; Felipe Rose; Alexander Briley; Ray Simpson.
With an earlier, very similar Rhino anthology now out of print, Casablanca's 14-track The Best of Village People stands as the clear-cut choice for disco and camp fanatics who want a detailed portrait of the group's career. This collection includes both the 7" and 12" versions of their two Top Five pop hits, "Y.M.C.A." and "In the Navy," plus the 12" version of their other signature tune, "Macho Man." There's also a generous selection of lesser-known club hits, including their debut single, "San Francisco (You've Got Me)," "Go West," "Can't Stop the Music," and "Ready for the '80s," plus B-sides like "Key West" and "In Hollywood (Everybody Is a Star)." Self-explanatory cuts like "Fire Island" and "Hot Cop" don't really bother disguising the Village People's target audience, although the Rhino inclusion "Sodom and Gomorrah" is missing here. Even so, it's hard to imagine anyone being dissatisfied with such a generally thorough retrospective, and it's probably more than some casual fans will need in the first place. ~ Steve Huey

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,378
  • UPC: 731452203922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)