The Ambassadors Soul Summit

Soul Summit
5 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $8 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZJG 4000
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: December 30, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Jamie / Guyden


  • 1.I Really Love You
  • 2.Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  • 3.Music (Makes You Wanna Dance)
  • 4.You Gave Me Somebody To Love
  • 5.Storm Warning
  • 6.Ain't Got The Love (Of One Girl On My Mind)
  • 7.I Dig You Baby
  • 8.You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  • 9.AWOL (Away Without Love)
  • 10.Yes I'm Ready / I'll Try Something New
  • 11.If I'm All You Got (I'm All You Need)
  • 12.Ain't No Sun Since You've Been Gone (Live From The Nixon Theater) [Bonus Track]
  • 13.Happiness (Live From The Nixon Theater) [Bonus Track]
  • 14.Proud Of My Baby [Bonus Track]

Product Description:

The Ambassadors: Benjamin Speller, Calvin Todd, John Johnson, Herley Johnson, Robert Todd (vocals).
Additional personnel: Bobby Martin (arrangements); Leon Huff (arrangements, piano, organ); Bobby Eli, Norman Harris (guitar); Vince Montana (vibraphone, percussion); Ronnie Baker (bass); Earl Young (drums).
Sam Reed Group: Sam Reed (tenor saxophone); John Lynet, John Coles (trumpet); Fred Joiner (trombone); Leon Zackery (alto saxophone); John Davis (baritone saxophone).
Recorded at 919 Sound Studios, Philadelphia, Pennsylvannia.
Although this is filled out with covers of "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'," "Yes I'm Ready," and "Can't Take My Eyes Off You," on the whole it's a solid and varied album of early Gamble/Huff-styled Philadelphia soul. Even though Gamble and Huff's own contributions were peripheral (Jimmy Bishop produced, Gamble co-wrote the small hit "I Really Love You," and Huff played piano), several musicians who would play in Gamble-Huff's house bands participated. The harmonies are lively, the arrangements (by Bobby Martin, who would also work with Gamble-Huff) satisfyingly busy, and the material a bit ordinary but serviceable. Philly soul fiends may consider it a lost nugget of sorts; the three non-LP bonus tracks on the CD reissue include a couple of raucous live cuts with a straighter R&B feel. ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,306
  • UPC: 647780400028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)