Pig Destroyer Terrifyer

Alternative Press: "[A]ll their songs are condensed into 90-second blastbeat clinics that make every riff sound like the best one you've ever heard." - 4 out of 5
Get email alerts for Pig Destroyer
39 ratings
CYBER WEEK SALE: $10.98 Sale ends Dec 6
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $2 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  JKCD 3294
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
Related products:
Gojira: Magma for $13.60

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Relapse

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - p.110
"[A]ll their songs are condensed into 90-second blastbeat clinics that make every riff sound like the best one you've ever heard." - 4 out of 5
The Wire - p.57
"Their stripped down presentation keeps the listener's focus where it belongs - on the sounds. And that's where they do their serious damage....The visceral impact of TERRIFYER is breathtaking."
CMJ - p.17
"Twenty-one efficient, bloody grindcore songs are crammed into TERRIFYER's 32 minutes..."


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Pretty in Casts
  • 3.Boy Constrictor
  • 4.Scarlet Hourglass
  • 5.Thumbsucker
  • 6.Gravedancer
  • 7.Lost Cause
  • 8.Sourheart
  • 9.Towering Flesh
  • 10.Song of Filth
  • 11.Verminess
  • 12.Torture Ballad
  • 13.Restraining Order Blues
  • 14.Carrion Fairy
  • 15.Downpour Girl
  • 16.Soft Assassin
  • 17.Dead Carnations
  • 18.Crippled Horses
  • 19.The Gentleman
  • 20.Crawl of Time
  • 21.Terrifyer

Product Description:

Pig Destroyer: J. R. Hayes (vocals); Scott Hull (guitar, bass guitar); Brian Harvey (drums).
Additional personnel: Katherine Katz (vocals); Matthew Mills (guitar); Richard (Grindfather) Johnson (background vocals).
Of the three highly anticipated sophomore albums to come out on Relapse in the second half of 2004 -- the other two being the Dillinger Escape Plan's ghastly Miss Machine and Mastodon's good but slightly over-ambitious Leviathan -- Terrifyer is the one that really lives up to the pre-release hype and expectations. Coming three years after their proper debut full-length, A Prowler in the Yard, Terrifyer was billed early on as a two-CD concept album that would consist of one disc of short, blasting metal songs in the familiar Pig Destroyer style, plus another disc with a single extended, more experimental track. It's a similar set-up to Naked City's Black Box, which paired the hyper, cut-and-paste grindcore of Torture Garden with the slow, torturous Leng T'ch'e. The difference is that while Naked City were essentially avant-garde and never fully convincing as a metal band, Pig Destroyer is the real deal. The first disc builds on the style established with Prowler, dishing out 20 short, fast, abrasive grindcore songs, which fly by in around half-an-hour. If anything, these songs are tighter, heavier, and more punishing than the already formidable Prowler, and with an equally superb (and relentless) sense of pacing. Vocalist J.R. Hayes has diversified his delivery, adding in some wounded near-singing that's reminiscent of Today Is the Day's Steve Austin in places. Guitarist Scott Hull is a riff-master on par with the Melvins' King Buzzo and the guys in Carcass, and Brian Harvey tears up the drum kit with some of the most savage percussion work around (sans any cheap triggers or samples). The second disc contains just one track, "Natasha," a half-hour of slow, post-Melvins sludge interspersed with ambient electronic sounds and electro-acoustic samples. Note that you will need a DVD player to play this disc, as it's mixed in 5.1 Surround Sound and will not play on an ordinary CD player. Even if you consider the second disc as simply a bonus, this album is a must for death metal and grindcore fans as well as anyone else with a passing interest in the genre. ~ William York

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 106,306
  • UPC: 781676663125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)