Sam Smith In the Lonely Hour [Deluxe]

CMJ: "The clarity of production on IN THE LONELY HOUR is in that tradition of yearning pop-soul of the late-80s like Simply Red's Mick Hucknell or George Michael."
Get email alerts for Sam Smith
2.1K ratings
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $6.01 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZDPX 9173
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 26, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

"The clarity of production on IN THE LONELY HOUR is in that tradition of yearning pop-soul of the late-80s like Simply Red's Mick Hucknell or George Michael."
Billboard - "Smith bares more than his vocal cords on this record. Every story of unrequited love that's been put to song is powerful in its own right."


  • 1.Money on My Mind
  • 2.Good Thing
  • 3.Stay with Me
  • 4.Leave Your Lover
  • 5.I'm Not the Only One
  • 6.I've Told You Now
  • 7.Like I Can
  • 8.Life Support
  • 9.Not in That Way
  • 10.Lay Me Down
  • 11.Restart
  • 12.Latch [Acoustic]
  • 13.La La La
  • 14.Make It to Me

Product Description:

Recording information: Angel Studios; Assault & Battery 2, London; EG White Studio, London; Oldbnb Studio; PMR's House, Studio 13, London; RAK Studios, London; Timber Street Studios, London.
Photographer: Stephanie Sian Smith.
Disclosure's loping dance-pop single "Latch," a number 11 U.K. hit in 2012, introduced Sam Smith, a London-born vocalist with a deeply emotive voice. Smith grew up listening to R&B giants Chaka Khan, Luther Vandross, and Whitney Houston, but their first impression was unique, not merely for the richness of their voice, but its resoundingly expressive yet naturally delivered manner -- on a level most singers can't match with maximum effort. Early 2013 brought their debut solo single, "Lay Me Down" -- an aching singer/songwriter-soul throwback that scraped the U.K. Top 50. It was quickly eclipsed by a lead role on Naughty Boy's "La La La," a breakbeat-driven tearjerker that went to number one in the U.K. and then reached the Top 20 in the U.S. "Money on My Mind," an upbeat statement of purpose more about the soul than the heart, and "Stay with Me," a torch song with a gospel-inspired chorus, were Smith's second and third solo singles. They preceded the release of In the Lonely Hour, the singer and songwriter's debut album. Those three solo singles are here, along with seven new songs that tend to cast Smith as a heartbroken balladeer. Deep sorrow informs most of the material. Much more about mourning than movement here, Smith is bold for not attempting to capitalize on the Disclosure and Naughty Boy hits. The dominance of stripped-down backdrops -- some with merely piano, acoustic guitar, and conservative strings -- is somewhat surprising. That puts all the more focus on Smith's voice and words, the latter of which switch between borderline maudlin ("What use is money when you need someone to hold?") and disarmingly brazen ("Just leave your lover, leave him for me"). If Smith didn't have such a remarkable voice, they could stay busy composing songs for artists in several genres; the anthemic "Like I Can" could be easily adapted for a contemporary country singer, while a few others could be turned over to young pop artists in need of material that makes them sound more human. This is an understated and promising first step from an unpredictable and distinctive talent. ~ Andy Kellman

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,507
  • UPC: 602537691739
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)