Elton John Blue Moves (2-CD)

Blue Moves (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Elton John
Price: $17.20
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $0.79 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6K862
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 3, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Polygram Uk

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Your Starter for It
  • 2.Tonight
  • 3.One Horse Town
  • 4.Chameleon
  • 5.Boogie Pilgrim
  • 6.Cage the Songbird
  • 7.Crazy Water
  • 8.Shoulder Holster

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word
  • 2.Out of the Blue
  • 3.Between Seventeen and Twenty
  • 4.The Wide Eyed and Laughing
  • 5.Someone's Final Song
  • 6.Where's the Shoorah?
  • 7.If There's a God in Heaven (What's He Waiting For?)
  • 8.Idol
  • 9.Theme from a Non-Existent TV Series
  • 10.Bite Your Lip (Get Up and Dance!)

Product Description:

Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, harpsichord); Davey Johnstone (guitar, mandolin); Caleb Quaye (guitar); Michael Hurwirz (cello); David Sanborn (saxophone); Barry Rogers, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker (horns); James Newton-Howard (piano, organ, synthesizer); Kenny Pasarrelli (bass); Roger Pope (drums); Ray Cooper (percussion); The Cornerstone Institutional Baptist Choir, Southern California Community Choir, Bruce Johnston, Graham Nash, Curt Becher, Clark Burroughs, Joe Chemay, Jon Joyce, Cindy Bullens, Ron Hicklin, Toni Tennille, David Crosby, Gene Morford (background vocals).
Engineers include: Gus Dudgeon, John Kurtlander, Earl Mankey.
Recorded at Eastern Sound, Toronto, Canada. Includes liner notes by Gus Dudgeon.
All tracks have been digitally remastered by Gus Dudgeon.
Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, harpsichord, electric harpsichord, harmonium, keyboards); Davey Johnstone (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, dulcimer, mandolin, sitar, synthesizer); Cindy Bullens, Clark Burroughs, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Gene Morford, Toni Tennille, Joe Chemay, Ron Hicklin (vocals, background vocals); Jan Joyce, Cornerstone Choir (vocals); Caleb Quaye (guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Dani Davey (electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin); Michael Hurwitz (cello); Martyn Ford, Gene Page (strings); Carl Fortina (accordion); James Newton Howard (clarinet, electric piano, organ, Mellotron, keyboards, synthesizer); David Sanborn (saxophone, horns); Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, The Brecker Brothers, Barry Rogers (horns); James ? (electric piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer); Ray Cooper (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, congas, finger cymbals, shaker, tambourine, triangle, tubular bells, percussion, gong); Ray (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, congas, tambourine, bells, gong); Roger Pope (drums); Jon Joyce , Curt Becher, Crosby & Nash, Bruce Johnston (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Phil Dunne.
Audio Remixers: Gus Dudgeon; Phil Dunne.
Liner Note Author: Gus Dudgeon.
Recording information: Additional Locations; Brother Studio, Santa Monica, CA; Eastern Sound, Toronto, Canada; Eastrn Sound, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England; Sunset Sound Recorders, LA, CA.
Director: James Cleveland.
Photographer: David Nutter.
Arrangers: Daryl Dragon; James Newton Howard; Curt Becher; Paul Buckmaster; Bruce Johnston .
BLUE MOVES was Elton John's first double-album since 1973's GOODBYE YELLOW BRICK ROAD and his last full collaboration with Bernie Taupin before taking a two-year break from the lyricist. MOVES also signaled the end of a Golden Age marked by a string of wildly successful albums (including the aforementioned ROAD and CARIBOU) and non-stop, sold-out tours. This melancholy 1976 release includes what would be EJ's last Top 10 hit for three years ("Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word") and is loaded with numbers reflecting the ennui and burnout both John and Taupin were experiencing at the time ("Between Seventeen And Twenty," "If There's A God In Heaven [What's He Waiting For?]"). Elsewhere, John and Taupin write songs in tribute to Edith Piaf ("Cage The Songbird") and a depressingly debilitated Elvis Presley ("Idol").
Despite the inclusion of these and other heart-wrenching compositions like "Tonight," John's irrepressible upbeat attitude comes to the fore on tracks such as the Caleb Quaye instrumental "Your Starter For..." and "One Horse Town," a peppy song about life in the rural South. Most gratifying is a collaboration with the Reverend James Cleveland and his Southern California Choir on the funky "Boogie Pilgrim."

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,024
  • UPC: 731453246720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)