Genya Ravan Cheesecake Girl: Scenes from Lollipop Lounge

Cheesecake Girl: Scenes from Lollipop Lounge
Get email alerts for Genya Ravan
5 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 1836
Brand New
Related products:
More products that might interest you:
Genya Ravan - Cheesecake Girl - Promotional Poster [Artist-Signed] (Limited Edition: 50 Copies) $11.98

CD Details

  • Released: October 22, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Cheesecake Girl is the long-awaited new recording from Genya Ravan. Genya is the iconic, rock & roll legend and former lead singer of Goldie & the Gingerbreads and Ten Wheel Drive. She is the renowned producer of such artists as The Dead Boys and Ronnie Spector. Her recording of "Whipping Post" was sampled by Jay Z on his recent release "Oh My God". Genya also hosts a radio show on Steven Van Zandt's Underground Garage radio channel on Sirius Satellite Radio. Genya Ravan, as played by Stana Katic, will appear in the soon to be released motion picture "CBGBs". Here, the legendary rocker brings her fabulous voice to fifteen songs inspired by her autobiography "Lollipop Lounge".


  • 1.Cheesecake Girl
  • 2.Angel Of The Odd
  • 3.Cobblestones And Rolling-Stones
  • 4.Let's Get Jack
  • 5.Coney Island Baby
  • 6.Bad Bad Girl
  • 7.Baby I'm Down
  • 8.I Will Follow
  • 9.I Just Don't Understand
  • 10.Do You Know What I Mean
  • 11.Route 32
  • 12.Lady Of The Harbor
  • 13.Me And My Yoyo
  • 14.Stoop To High Heaven
  • 15.Never Say Never Again

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
True Confessions From Rock Queen Ravan Music Lover: from Buffalo -- December, 22, 2012

Genya Ravan pulls out all the stops on CHEESECAKE GIRL. Strong songwriting, true musicianship, and the voice that has rocked, soothed and awed us for decades are all here on this 2012 CD. Right off the bat, the title track, CHEESECAKE GIRL starts off with a bang with a hard edge of guitars and harmonica, with Genya's rock & roll credentials very evident, as clever lines about famous venues, and a life of being a rock and roll woman made me in awe of her career in music. ANGEL OF THE ODD is a confessional song about a love affair in her TEN WHEEL DRIVE group - what an offbeat title that makes a spellbinding song. COBBLESTONES AND ROLLING STONES is an upbeat ode about her all female rock group GOLDIE AND THE GINGERBREADS living in London & touring with The Rolling Stones, Kinks and other rock legends. It sports a groovy 60's sound with organ & tambourines , not unlike The Gingerbreads records, and makes me wish even more I had been old enough to have seen this group . Lines about the other 3 Gingerbreads - Ginger, Margo & Carol, give this song that added nod to the history that they made. The first three songs alone already make this album one of the strongest albums that she has ever released.

Her memoir, LOLLIPOP LOUNGE , is an amazing book account of her life and career. This album is like the companion piece. Genya's influences are all abound here, with hard rock, blues, R&B, , jazz and even a surprising old C&W influence on a couple tracks [ courtesy of noted musician Eric Weissberg guesting ]. BAD BAD GIRL and BABY I'M DOWN are blues-jazz-rock standouts that really burn up this CD. Songs about her beginning years like LADY OF THE HARBOR, on arriving in NYC after her family fled Poland, and her time spent in a gang in NYC, LET'S GO JACK are as melodic as they are revealing. Even the choice of outside material fits perfectly on this album with I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND being another highlight. Lou Reed's CONEY ISLAND BABY is preceded with a short spoken passage , Lee Michael's DO YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN rocks harder than his original version and Ian McLagan contributed two strong songs - I WILL FOLLOW YOU and the closing song, NEVER SAY NEVER AGAIN. ROUTE 32 features some humorous lines like " where the men are men, and the sheep are nervous " - about when Genya tended bar way out of the city. It's another Genya Ravan production, with superb arrangements and intricate background vocals, all supplied by the lady herself. While many of her contemporaries are singing standards, playing oldies shows or dead, Genya Ravan is still thriving and releasing vital new music.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,310
  • UPC: 090431183625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)