The Beach Boys Love You

Get email alerts for The Beach Boys
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  6KAD3
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 15, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 8/31/00, p.73
4 stars out of 5 - "...Merges goofy tunes with wacky synth science...a joyously weird mix of past and present that only Brian could mastermind..."
The Wire - 12/00, p.56
"...A marginally interesting set of sentimental ballads and nostalgic soft rockers..."


  • 1.Let Us Go On This Way
  • 2.Roller Skating Child
  • 3.Mona
  • 4.Johnny Carson
  • 5.Good Time
  • 6.Honkin' Down The Highway
  • 7.Ding Dang
  • 8.Solar System
  • 9.The Night Was So Young
  • 10.I'll Bet He's Nice
  • 11.Let's Put Our Hearts Together
  • 12.I Wanna Pick You Up
  • 13.Airplane
  • 14.Love Is A Woman

Product Description:

Remastered from the original master tapes by Joe Gastwirt.
Judging by the title and the quilted design on the cover, Love You would appear to be an album of ballads or romantic tracks, maybe '70s remakes of "Surfer Girl" or "In My Room." But from the brutal synthesizer stabs and Carl Wilson's throaty yell, "Harrahhh!" on the opening track, it's clear this is no ordinary Beach Boys LP. Besides several hard-charging pop songs ("Honkin' Down the Highway," "Roller Skating Child," "Let Us Go On This Way"), there are a couple of baffling but ultimately endearing tracks whose titles ("Johnny Carson," "Solar System," "Ding Dang") are good indicators of the amateurish lyrics and subject matter. What makes Love You one of the best Beach Boys LPs of the 1970s, though, is the return to an uncommonly Brian Wilson sense of romantic na‹vet‚ and "adult child" wonder at the world. "The Night Was So Young," "I'll Bet He's Nice," and "Let's Put Our Hearts Together" form a suite during the middle of side two that rivals Pet Sounds for breadth of emotional attachment. Originally slated to be a Brian Wilson solo album (titled Brian Loves You), it shows the aging genius with many of his pop smarts intact, his wildly eccentric lifestyle tweaking his sense of songcraft in an intriguing direction. [In 2000, Love You was made available on the two-fer compilation 15 Big Ones/Love You.] ~ John Bush

Product Info

  • UPC: 4988031145203
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)