The Cure Seventeen Seconds (Deluxe Edition) (2-CD)

Spin: "[The album] finds Robert Smith starting to get his 'Phantom of the Opera' on..."
Get email alerts for The Cure
105 ratings
List Price: $21.98
You Save: $1.18 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Hurry! Only 1 copy left
Sorry no back-orders
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  33YHS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 26, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Elektra / Wea

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.79
3.5 stars out of 5 - "[With] clipped guitars, staccato bass, drums that crackle with tension and icy background keyboards that hum like defective air conditioning."
Spin - p.109
"[The album] finds Robert Smith starting to get his 'Phantom of the Opera' on..."
Q - 6/00, p.65
Ranked #65 in Q's "100 Greatest British Albums" - "...A clean, contemplative, at times desolate guitar record that...tapped into a peculiarly suburban paranoia....their career as Goth ambassadors was launched."
Uncut - p.124
4 stars out of 5 - "Poised and atmospheric, there's a Nick Drake-like organic clarity to SEVENTEEN SECONDS..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.A Reflection
  • 2.Play For Today
  • 3.Secrets
  • 4.In Your House
  • 5.Three
  • 6.The Final Sound
  • 7.A Forest
  • 8.M
  • 9.At Night
  • 10.Seventeen Seconds

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm a Cult Hero - (Cult Hero 7")
  • 2.I Dig You - (Cult Hero 7")
  • 3.Another Journey by Train - (Home Demo)
  • 4.Secrets - (Home Demo)
  • 5.Seventeen Seconds - (Live)
  • 6.In Your House - (Live)
  • 7.Three - (Alt Studio mix)
  • 8.I Dig You - (Cult Hero Live)
  • 9.I'm a Cult Hero - (Cult Hero Live)
  • 10.M - (Live)
  • 11.Final Sound, The - (Live)
  • 12.Reflection, A - (Live)
  • 13.Play For Today - (Live)
  • 14.At Night - (Live)
  • 15.Forest, A - (Live)

Product Description:

The Cure: Robert Smith (vocals, guitar, violin); Simon Gallup (bass guitar); Laurence Tolhurst, Mathieu Hartley.
Personnel: Frank Bell (vocals); Porl Thompson (guitar); Mathieu Hartley, Michael Dempsey, Janet Smith (keyboards); Laurence Tolhurst (drums).
Additional personnel: Frank Bell, Michael Dempsey, Porl Thompson, Janet Smith.
Audio Remasterer: Chris Blair.
Recording information: Morgan Studio One, London, England.
Ensemble: Cult Hero.
Photographers: Simon Gallup; Andrew Douglas; Bob King ; Ebet Roberts; John Taw; Bunny Lake; Denis O'Regan.
Within the space of two short years the Cure mysteriously transformed themselves from a more accessible Wire/Buzzcocks hybrid into the grandiose-haired gloom merchants they resembled for decades. While the international success of singles like "Boys Don't Cry" might have pointed to a continuation of the same formula, Smith decided to take the band into choppier waters. SEVENTEEN SECONDS marked the start of the Cure Phase II. Somewhat reminiscent of bands like Siouxsie & the Banshees (a group Smith played with for a few albums), SEVENTEEN SECONDS is not an album for the faint at heart.
The addition of perennial favorite Simon Gallup on bass and the short-lived but effective Mathleu Hartley on keyboards expanded the Cure's previously sparse sound, adding layers of texture that complemented Smith's longer, less accessible songs. While "Play for Today" hearkens back to the bands poppier days, "Seventeen Seconds" and "Secrets" show that the band was not about to turn back from its new approach. "A Reflection" is eerily beautiful, but the album's true highlight is the perky-but-sad "A Forest." Perhaps one of the least-known but most influential records of the early 1980s, and a sign of things to come down the road.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 86,257
  • UPC: 081227468224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)