Echo & The Bunnymen Heaven Up Here [Bonus Tracks]

NME (Magazine): Ranked #39 in NME's list of The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s.
Heaven Up Here [Bonus Tracks]
Get email alerts for Echo & The Bunnymen
49 ratings
SALE: $10.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 11622
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/03, p.149
4 stars out of 5 - "...[With] strung-out defiance turning to emotionless candour and back to defiance..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 12/03, pp.129-30
5 stars out of 5 - "It transcended the era's sonic specifics and still grips the heart."
NME (Magazine) - 9/25/93, p.19
Ranked #39 in NME's list of The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s.
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #51 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'


  • 1.Show of Strength
  • 2.With a Hip
  • 3.Over the Wall
  • 4.It Was a Pleasure
  • 5.A Promise
  • 6.Heaven Up Here
  • 7.The Disease
  • 8.All My Colours
  • 9.No Dark Things
  • 10.Turquoise Days
  • 11.All I Want
  • 12.Broke My Neck - (long version)
  • 13.Show of Strength - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 14.Disease, The - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 15.All I Want - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 16.Zimbo - (previously unreleased, live)

Product Description:

Echo & The Bunnymen: Ian McCulloch (vocals, guitar); Will Sergeant (guitar); Les Pattinson (bass); Pete De Freitas (drums).
Additional personnel: Leslie Penny (woodwinds).
Recorded at Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, England. Originally released on Sire (3569). Includes liner notes by Max Bell.
Personnel: Ian McCulloch (vocals); Will Sergeant (guitar); Leslie Penny (woodwinds); Pete de Freitas (drums).
Audio Remasterers: Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: Max Bell.
Recording information: Manley Vale Hotel, Sydney, Australia (03/??/1981-11/11/1981); Rockfield Studios, Monmouth, Wales (03/??/1981-11/11/1981); Tistedal Studios, Tistedal, Norway (03/??/1981-11/11/1981).
Photographer: Brian Griffin .
Though it yielded only one minor hit single in the band's native England, HEAVEN UP HERE is considered by many to be the ultimate Echo and the Bunnymen album. The album is drenched in an aura of mystery that is fueled by the swirling, epic sound of guitarist Will Sergeant and drummer Pete De Freitas. The music is so powerful that singer Ian McCulloch's vague, almost nonsensical lyrics take on a profundity.
While tracks like "The Disease," a desolate two-chord sound-poem based on a solitary rhythm guitar and a haunting recorder passage, do feature some incisive lyrics, most of McCulloch's words seem intent on reinforcing the dark, brooding atmosphere of the music. The opening "Show of Strength," a soaring song that is driven by one of Sergeant's gripping guitar passages, sets the tone for the album, creating a heroic soundscape that crests with the majesty of "A Promise." The latter is a hypnotic song in which drummer DeFritas showcases his explosive style and McCulloch provides one the most compelling vocal performances of his career. While HEAVEN UP HERE may lack the hit singles that made the Bunnymen alternative-radio favorites throughout the '80s, it is a classic rock album and arguably the Bunnymen's finest hour.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 825646116225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)