COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

The Byrds Younger Than Yesterday

NME (Magazine): Ranked #98 in NME's list of the `Greatest Albums Of All Time.'
Get email alerts for The Byrds
6 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.01 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  SSP 69379
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 30, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.126
Ranked #124 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "Hillman bloomed as a writer, simultaneously reviving the Byrds' early magic and foreshadowing their adventures in country rock..."
Entertainment Weekly - 6/28-7/5/96, p.106
"...illustrates why the best Byrds music still inspires musicians....And while time hasn't enhanced the group's forays into psychedelia...there are enough keepers to make you forgive their occasional tendency to fly into walls." - Rating: B+
Q - 12/94, p.158
4 Stars - Excellent - "...flawed Byrds masterpiece...a seamless blend of psychedelia, C&W, rock and jazz. These American Beatles were never in better form..."
Melody Maker - 5/11/96, p.50
Recommended - "...As haphazard as all false divinities, maybe The Byrds kissed the sky mostly by accident. It doesn't matter. You can still find them up there."
Musician - 8/96, p.90
"Seems unfair to do this reissue a mere four years after you dropped a pile of money on the box set, but whatever '20-bit remastering' means, I like the sound better here. The guitar interplay emerges with greater warmth and clarity, without over-thinning the wash..."
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #98 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'
NME (Magazine) - 5/11/96, p.46
10 (out of 10) - "...a work of genius....a sprawling multi-flavoured blow out..."


  • 1.So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star
  • 2.Have You Seen Her Face
  • 3.C.T.A. - 102
  • 4.Renaissance Fair
  • 5.Time Between
  • 6.Everybody's Been Burned
  • 7.Thoughts And Words
  • 8.Mind Gardens
  • 9.My Back Pages
  • 10.The Girl With No Name
  • 11.Why
  • 12.Don't Make Waves
  • 13.It Happens Each Day
  • 14.My Back Pages
  • 15.Mind Gardens
  • 16.Lady Friend
  • 17.Mind Gardens

Product Description:

The 1996 reissue of YOUNGER THAN YESTERDAY includes six bonus tracks: "It Happens Each Day," "Don't Make Waves," "Lady Friend," "Old John Robertson" (the B-side of the "Lady Friend" single), and alternate versions of "My Back Pages" and "Mind Gardens."
The Byrds: David Crosby (vocals, guitar); Jim McGuinn (vocals, 12-string guitar); Chris Hillman (vocals, bass); Michael Clarke (drums).
Additional personnel: Vern Gosdin (acoustic guitar); Clarence White (electric guitar); Hugh Masekela (horns).
Reissue producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded in 1966-67. Includes liner notes by David Fricke and Johnny Rogan.
Digitally remastered using 20-Bit Super Mapping system.
Released in April 1967, months before the Summer Of Love, YOUNGER THAN YESTERDAY was proof that The Byrds had already graduated from their fascination with the psychedelic "scene." "Eight Miles High" may have introduced the general public to the counter culture's interests and fascinations, but this song cycle found The Byrds reluctant to rest their faith in either the growing movement they helped bring together, or the art form that was the movement's voice.
The sonic lessons they'd learned still infused many of the tracks. Tape-loops created the splendorous backdrop of "Mind Gardens," the Eastern modes used on "Eight Miles High" reappeared on the re-recorded "Why," and "C.T.A.-102" seemed less a song than an excuse to use the studio as a laboratory for new sounds. But a new direction was emerging. "So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star," a tongue-in-cheek treatise on fame, and Bob Dylan's "My Back Pages," the best known tracks here, both hinted at a reevaluation of previously settled matters. David Crosby's folky, Eastern-tinged "Everybody's Been Burned" may have been written well before he joined the group, but it is a dark declaration on moderation, trust and responsibility, that comfortably fits within the context of the era. And Chris Hillman's country-minded contributions not only grounded The Byrds with a salt-of-the-earth feel missing from the rest of the album, but hinted at the Nashville sound where they and many of their psychedelic brethren would soon end up. Now, as then, YOUNGER THAN YESTERDAY seems like the precursor to a generation's truer awakening.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 25,699
  • UPC: 886976937928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19