Madonna Celebration

Entertainment Weekly: "36 tracks covering nearly every phase of her 25-year career. It all holds up surprisingly well." -- Grade: B
Get email alerts for Madonna
136 ratings
SALE: $8.98
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 49927
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 29, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.74
4 stars out of 5 -- "CELEBRATION kicks off with pure bliss and never lets up. It's a dizzying, non-chronological spin through the Madonna years, years it makes you feel lucky to be living through."
Entertainment Weekly - p.56
"36 tracks covering nearly every phase of her 25-year career. It all holds up surprisingly well." -- Grade: B


  • 1.Hung Up
  • 2.Music
  • 3.Vogue
  • 4.4 Minutes
  • 5.Holiday
  • 6.Like A Virgin
  • 7.Into The Groove
  • 8.Like A Prayer
  • 9.Ray of Light
  • 10.La Isla Bonita
  • 11.Frozen
  • 12.Material Girl
  • 13.Papa Don't Preach
  • 14.Lucky Star
  • 15.Express Yourself
  • 16.Open Your Heart
  • 17.Dress You Up
  • 18.Celebration

Product Description:

Photographers: Herb Ritts; Wayne Maser; Jean Baptiste Mondino.
Madonna's run at the top of the charts lasted so long, longer than almost any other star, it's almost impossible to squeeze all the hits onto one collection. And so it is that Celebration, a single-disc, 18-track set that also has a companion double-disc expansion, misses a few songs, hits as gorgeous as "Rain" and as goofily camp as "Hanky Panky," but truth be told, they're not greatly missed on this parade of pop genius that's hampered only slightly by its non-chronological order. Out of order, it does emphasize Madonna's consistency, but the bigger problem with the collection is that it mixes up album mixes, single edits, Q-Sound mixes pulled from The Immaculate Collection, and a couple of stray odd edits and mixes. This is a mess, but not quite enough to dilute what is one of the greatest bodies of work in modern pop -- even in this mixed-up confusion, these singles are a joy to hear. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 29,756
  • UPC: 093624992745
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)