The Smiths Best, Volume 1

Entertainment Weekly: "...The Smiths' sparkling songs about the profound misery of life are an essential pop soundtrack to the '80s..." - Rating: A-
Get email alerts for The Smiths
28 ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Hurry! Only a few copies left
Sorry no back-orders
Format:  CD
sku:  GG 981
Brand New
Related products:
The Smiths for $12.20
The Smiths: Singles for $14.50

CD Details

  • Released: August 15, 1992
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Warner Bros / Wea

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/22/93, p.57
"...The Smiths' sparkling songs about the profound misery of life are an essential pop soundtrack to the '80s..." - Rating: A-
Alternative Press - 12/92, p.81
"..highlights the band at its peak, racing through more slabs of classic Smithery than perhaps even their fans can remember.."


  • 1.This Charming Man
  • 2.William, It Was Really Nothing
  • 3.What Difference Does It Make
  • 4.Stop Me If You Think You've Heard This One Before
  • 5.Girlfriend In A Coma
  • 6.Half A Person
  • 7.Rubber Ring
  • 8.How Soon Is Now?
  • 9.Hand In Glove
  • 10.Shoplifters Of The World Unite
  • 11.Sheila Take A Bow
  • 12.Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others
  • 13.Panic
  • 14.Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want

Product Description:

The Smiths: Morrissey (vocals); Johnny Marr (guitar); Andy Rourke (bass); Mike Joyce (drums).
Consisting mostly of singles and b-sides, this compilation contains 14 good-to-great Smiths tracks. Starting with the early paean to the terminally dandified, "This Charming Man," it covers the entire span of the Smiths' career.
BEST, VOLUME I contains some wonderful moments, such as the whine of "What Difference Does it Make," the knowing satire of "Girlfriend in a Coma," and the beautiful teenage angst of the acoustic "Half a Person." Also featured is what might possibly be the Smiths' finest moment, the post-modern Bo Diddley guitar-driven shuffle of "How Soon is Now." The subversive "Panic" with its pertinent "hang the DJ, hang the DJ, hang the DJ" chorus is also a welcome inclusion. This is a valuable compilation, recommended to those interested in sampling some of the delights of one of the '80s most influential British bands.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 98,612
  • UPC: 093624504221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)