Weezer Hurley

Rolling Stone: 3 stars out of 5 -- "'Memories' is a hilarious ode to how awesome it was to be in Weezer back in the mid-Nineties....'Hang On' is power-ballad heaven."
Get email alerts for Weezer
34 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $13 (72% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZJU 71262
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Epitaph

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
3 stars out of 5 -- "'Memories' is a hilarious ode to how awesome it was to be in Weezer back in the mid-Nineties....'Hang On' is power-ballad heaven."
"[I]t's a solid collection of precise and persuasively melodic rock..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.139
"Weezer's most consistently engaging collection of tunes in years is cheerful, scruffy, and sly, a winning blend of Beach Boys sonic richness, hard-rawk guitar riffs, and Cuomo's trademark mix of irony and sincerity."
Alternative Press
"The album closes with 'Time Flies,' a folk-country stomper that sounds like Led Zeppelin's more campfire-esque moments..."
Billboard (p.28) - "[H]ere frontman Rivers Cuomo emphasizes Weezer's core values....The song 'Unspoken' features a cameo from smooth-jazz saxophonist Greg Vail."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.103
3 stars out of 5 -- "[O]n closer 'Timer Flies,' an air of near-wistful nostalgia colours the album."


  • 1.Memories
  • 2.Ruling Me
  • 3.Trainwrecks
  • 4.Unspoken
  • 5.Where's My Sex?
  • 6.Run Away
  • 7.Hang On
  • 8.Smart Girls
  • 9.Brave New World
  • 10.Time Flies

Product Description:

Personnel: Yoon-Kyung Shin, Jeremy Van Sylke, Maria Van Der Sloot, Emily Botel, Allegra Young (violin); Cat Gray, Kayleigh Miller, Kellen McDaniel, Brian Sherwood, Carrie Campbell, John Batchelder (viola); Gabrielle Hamann-Guennette, Devin Franco, Cecilia Huerta (cello); Theresa Leonard (percussion).
Recording information: Hurley Studios, Costa Mesa, CA; Red Bull Studios, Santa Monica, CA; The Banff Centre, Luscar Studios, Banff, Alberta, Canad; The Village, Los Angeles, CA; Threshold Sound & Vision, Santa Monica, CA; Zeitgeist Studios, Los Angeles, CA.
Leaping from the majors to the indies, Weezer misses not a beat, choosing to continue the co-writing craze Rivers Cuomo kicked off on 2009's Raditude. Hurley -- named after Jorge Garcia's beloved Lost character for no particular reason, but anybody with three eponymous albums in an eight-LP career doesn't care much for titles in the first place -- is marginally louder and rougher than the clean sheen of Raditude, but not enough to fool anybody into thinking this is a punk rebirth. For Cuomo, independence means he can follow whatever notion seizes his fancy, and in this case he's capitalizing on collaborations, penning eight of Hurley's ten songs (the album runs four longer on a Deluxe Edition that includes a strong cover of Coldplay's "Viva la Vida") with a roster so diverse it borders on the nonsensical. Rivers is open to writing with anybody: he'll construct slick modern pop with professional songsmiths Desmond Child and Linda Perry; sharpen up his power pop with the assistance of fellow former college rockers Dan Wilson and Ryan Adams, whose respective "Ruling Me" and "Run Away" are among the album's highlights; and craft his sweetest, smartest tunes with No Doubt's Tony Kanal (the crisp "Smart Girls") and Rick Nowels, who co-wrote the classic "You Get What You Give" with Gregg Alexander and collaborates on "Hang On" here -- then, of all people, Cuomo gets old pro Mac Davis to work on the closer, "Time Flies." Nothing on paper ties all these writers together but Rivers is the common denominator, so there's a consistency of sound -- his co-writers amplify quirks and help him hone his craft, turning the songs tight and efficient. Sometimes, the quirks become overwhelming -- the one-note joke "Where's My Sex?" wears out its welcome by the second verse -- but usually the melodies and riffs are clean, simple, and powerful, hooking immediately and sticking around for a while. Again, Cuomo doesn't suppress his emotion; he just prefers sentiment (albeit delivered somewhat ironically as on lead single "Memories"), but what he loves most of all is a pure pop song and Hurley offers up its fair share. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,612
  • UPC: 045778712625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)