Hootie & The Blowfish Cracked Rear View

Rolling Stone: 3.5 Stars - Good - "...fat, folk-derived, group written guitar rock; their absolute lack of irony is as refreshing as the sing-along hooks..."
Get email alerts for Hootie & The Blowfish
170+ ratings
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
19 copies available
Format:  CD
sku:  6C4QJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 21, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Rhino Flashback

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/13/99, pp.60-61
Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Rolling Stone - 10/20/94, p.148
3.5 Stars - Good - "...fat, folk-derived, group written guitar rock; their absolute lack of irony is as refreshing as the sing-along hooks..."


  • 1.Hannah Jane
  • 2.Hold My Hand
  • 3.Let Her Cry
  • 4.Only Wanna Be With You
  • 5.Running From an Angel
  • 6.I'm Goin' Home
  • 7.Drowning
  • 8.Time
  • 9.Look Away
  • 10.Not Even the Trees
  • 11.Goodbye
  • 12.Motherless Child

Product Description:

Hootie & The Blowfish: Mark Bryan (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, piano, percussion); Darius Rucker (vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion); Dean Felber (vocals, piano, Clavinet, bass); Jim "Soni" Sonefeld (vocals, piano, drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Lili Haydn (violin); John Nau (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); David Crosby (background vocals).
Recorded at N.R.G. Recording Services, North Hollywood, California.
Hootie & The Blowfish won the 1996 Grammy Award for Best New Artist, and "Let Her Cry" won the Grammy for Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.
Hootie & The Blowfish are a powerhouse regional band exploding upon the charts with a musical point of view born of the "New South" stylings originally pioneered musically (and socially) by the Allman Brothers. Comprised of four University of South Carolina graduates, Hootie & The Blowfish began as a classic rock/R.E.M. cover band, but polished an original sound through persistent East Coast tours, and developed a fanatical regional following with their 1993 indy release KOOCHYPOP.
Hootie & The Blowfish draw upon a wide range of themes and styles on CRACKED REAR VIEW. "Drowning" is a fervent tale of forbidden romance, colored by the pressures of ignorance and racism. "Time" begins with a simple folkish dignity and Byrds-like guitar harmonies, before revving up to full poetic ambivalence ("Time, you ain't no friend of mine...Time, why do you punish me"). The opening cuts "Hannah Jane," "Hold My Hand" and "Let Her Cry" are hook-happy AOR fare; poignant, tender love songs with an edgy, lyric undercurrent of loneliness and longing, driven forward by Darius Rucker's soulful, preaching vocals. With CRACKED REAR VIEW, Hootie & The Blowfish have distilled their unique brand of Southern rock & soul into a driving pop sound, marked by an insistent rhythm groove, shimmering, soaring guitar work, and sweet country/R&B-styled vocal harmonies.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,919
  • UPC: 081227976538
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)