Shawn Phillips Second Contribution

Record Collector (magazine): 3 stars out of 5 -- "SECOND CONTRIBUTION heads toward funky R&B with wonderful results..."
Get email alerts for Shawn Phillips
40 ratings
Price: $11.90
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  Y58Y
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Released: October 25, 1990
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: A&M

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.92
3 stars out of 5 -- "SECOND CONTRIBUTION heads toward funky R&B with wonderful results..."


  • 1.She Was Waiting For Her Mother...
  • 2.Keep On
  • 3.Sleepwalker
  • 4.Song For Mr. C.
  • 5.Ballad Of Casey Deiss
  • 6.Song For Sagittarians
  • 7.Lookin' Up Lookin' Down
  • 8.Remedial Interruption
  • 9.Whaz' Zat
  • 10.Schmaltz Waltz
  • 11.F-Sharp Splendor
  • 12.Steel Eyes

Product Description:

Composer: Shawn Phillips.
Personnel: Shawn Phillips (vocals, guitar, sitar); Harvey Burns, Jim Cregan , Barry Dean (guitar); Jerry Salisbury (horns); Peter Robinson (keyboards, percussion); Ann Odell, Paul Buckmaster (keyboards); Bruce Rowland (drums).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Harvey Burns; John Michael Palmer; Jerry Salisbury; Ann Odell; Peter Robinson; Jim Creeggan; Paul Buckmaster; Anello Capuano; Brian Odgers; Bruce Rowland .
Arranger: Ian Green.
Singer/songwriter Shawn Phillips cuts a romantic figure on the cover of SECOND CONTRIBUTION, with his long, flowing locks and black cape, and that feeling follows through in the music. While some of the tracks are relatively small-scale folk-rock ballads, others are dramatic, elaborate epics replete with orchestration and Phillips' powerful voice giving its emotive all. The connecting thread throughout is Phillips' skills as a guitarist, and his nimble picking is amply in evidence all over SECOND CONTRIBUTION (which, despite the potentially misleading title, is not his second album).

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,722
  • UPC: 075021312821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)