James Brown Live At The Apollo

Get email alerts for James Brown
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  Vinyl LP
sku:  6CEA6
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: July 29, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/2/04, p.66
"[B]rown's iconic 1962 concert sounds brighter [on the 2004 remaster] than on the 1990 disc." - Rating: A-
Entertainment Weekly
"...a scorching live performance..." - Rating: A+
Q - 5/00, p.134
Included in Q Magazine's "Best Soul Albums Of All Time"
4 Stars - Excellent - "...remains Brown's finest recorded document..."
Q - p.132
5 stars out of 5 - "A serious candidate for greatest live album ever, this was the first and best document of Mr. Dynamite's numerous appearances at the Harlem hotspot."
Down Beat - 9/90
5 Stars - Excellent - "...without James Brown's brilliant insight into how to foreground rhythms, music from funk to reggae to rap to Afro-pop would be totally different, if it existed at all..."
Highly Recommended - "...Yowww! The greatest live album ever recorded..."
NME (Magazine) - 10/2/93, p.29
Ranked #30 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'


  • 1.Intro / Opening Fanfare
  • 2.Try Me
  • 3.I Don't Mind
  • 4.Lost Someone
  • 5.Night Train
  • 6.I'll Go Crazy
  • 7.Think
  • 8.Medley
  • 9.Outro / Closing Fanfare

Product Description:

The James Brown Band: James Brown (vocals); Lucas "Fats" Gonder (spoken vocals, organ); Les Buie (guitar); Al "Brisco" Clark (tenor & baritone saxophones); St. Clair Pinckney, Clifford "Ace King" MacMillan (tenor saxophone); Louis Hamblin, Teddy Washington, Mack Johnson (trumpet); Dickie Wells (trombone); Hubert Perry (bass); Clayton Fillyau, Sam Lathan (drums).
The Famous Flames: Bobby Byrd (organ, background vocals); Bobby Bennett, "Baby" Lloyd Stallworth (background vocals).
Recorded live at the Apollo Theater, New York, New York on October 24, 1962.
An astonishing record of James and the Flames tearing the roof off the sucker at the mecca of R&B theatres, New York's Apollo. When King Records owner Syd Nathan refused to fund the recording, thinking it commercial folly, Brown single-mindedly proceeded anyway, paying for it out of his own pocket. He had been out on the road night after night for a while, and he knew that the magic that was part and parcel of a James Brown show was something no record had ever caught. Hit follows hit without a pause -- "I'll Go Crazy," "Try Me," "Think," "Please Please Please," "I Don't Mind," "Night Train," and more. The affirmative screams and cries of the audience are something you've never experienced unless you've seen the Brown Revue in a Black theater. If you have, I need not say more; if you haven't, suffice to say that this should be one of the very first records you ever own. ~ Rob Bowman

Product Info

  • UPC: 042284347914
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)