King Crimson In the Wake of Poseidon (2-CD)

In the Wake of Poseidon (2-CD)
Get email alerts for King Crimson
21 ratings
Price: $24.40
List Price: $25.98
You Save: $1.58 (6% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JDSQ
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 4, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Discipline Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.83
4 stars out of 5 -- "Greg Lake takes the reins on the eight-minute brassy-jazz of 'Pictures Of A City,' showcasing Fripp's Yes-esque guitar cacophony."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.93
4 stars out of 5 -- "With Robert Fripp approving the masters, the album has been cut to perfection....Of course, it's the music that matters, and the album sounds wonderful."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Peace-A Beginning
  • 2.Pictures of a City
  • 3.Cadence and Cascade
  • 4.In the Wake of Poseidon
  • 5.Peace-A Theme
  • 6.Cat Food
  • 7.Devil's Triangle, The (Part I)
  • 8.Devil's Triangle, The (Part II) - (alternate take)
  • 9.Devil's Triangle, The (Part III)
  • 10.Peace-An End
  • 11.Groon [2010 Mix] - (remix)
  • 12.Peace: An End [Alternate Mix] - (remix)
  • 13.Cadence & Cascade [Greg Lake Guide Vocal]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Peace-A Beginning [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 2.Pictures of a City [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 3.Cadence and Cascade [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 4.In the Wake of Poseidon [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 5.Peace-A Theme [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 6.Cat Food [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 7.Devil's Triangle, The (Part I) [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 8.Devil's Triangle, The (Part II) [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 9.Devil's Triangle, The (Part III) [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 10.Peace-An End [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 11.Groon [5.1 Digital Surround]
  • 12.Peace-The Beginning [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 13.Pictures of a City [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 14.Cadence and Cascade [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 15.In the Wake of Poseidon [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 16.Peace-A Theme [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 17.Cat Food [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 18.Devil's Triangle, The (Part I) [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 19.Devil's Triangle, The (Part II) [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 20.Devil's Triangle, The (Part III) [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 21.Peace-An End [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 22.Groon [2010 New Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 23.Peace-A Beginning [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 24.Pictures of a City [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 25.Cadence and Cascade [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 26.In the Wake of Poseidon [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 27.Peace-A Theme [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 28.Cat Food [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 29.Devil'ss Triangle, The (Part I) [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 30.Devil's Triangle, The (Part II) [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 31.Devil's Triangle, The (Part III) - (remix)
  • 32.Peace-An End [1970 Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 33.Cat Food [Single Version]
  • 34.Groon
  • 35.Cadence & Cascade [Unedited Master]
  • 36.Cadence & Cascade [Greg Lake Guide Vocal]
  • 37.Cadence & Cascade [Instrumental Take] - (take)
  • 38.Groon [Take 1] - (take)
  • 39.Groon [Take 5] - (take)
  • 40.Groon [Take 15] - (take)
  • 41.The Devil's Triangle [Rehearsal Version]
  • 42.Peace: An End [Alternate Mix] - (remix)

Product Description:

King Crimson: Greg Lake, Gordon Haskell (vocals); Robert Fripp (guitar, Mellotron); Mel Collins (flute, saxophone); Keith Tippet (piano); Peter Giles (bass); Michael Giles (drums).
Personnel: Greg Lake (vocals); Robert Fripp (guitar, Mellotron); Mel Collins (flute, saxophone); Keith Tippett (piano); Michael Giles (drums).
Liner Note Author: Sid Smith .
Crimson's second album is cast very much in the same mold as its predecessor, but it expands upon the ground broken by the debut. The contrast between soft, lyrical ballads and frenetic sonic barrages is even more pronounced, the dynamics shifts even more extreme. As on IN THE COURT OF THE CRIMSON KING, there are extended cuts comprising several discrete sections. An important development is Fripp's increased (and increasingly sophisticated) use of the mellotron as its own instrument rather than an orchestra substitute, as seen on the album's several ominous instrumental pieces.
"Pictures of a City" seems meant to pick up where "20th Century Schizoid Man" left off, with it's furious ensemble passages, knotty Fripp guitar leads and Greg Lake's authoritative vocal. "Cadence and Cascade" helps fill out the ballad quotient with a beautiful, wispy vocal from transitional singer Gordon Haskell. A valuable note of humor is interjected into the proceedings via the jokey, off-handedly jazzy "Cat Food." Keith Tippet's piano and Mel Collins' sax--both soon to play larger roles--were introduced on POSEIDON as well.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,677
  • UPC: 633367400222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)