Bettye LaVette I've Got My Own Hell to Raise

Entertainment Weekly: "...HELL is heaven." - Grade: A-
Get email alerts for Bettye LaVette
31 ratings
You Save: $0.18 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  XXKW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 27, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Anti

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - No. 842, p.93
"...HELL is heaven." - Grade: A-
Uncut - p.104
4 stars out of 5 - "LaVette's fierce and knowing transformations of material from female writers like Sin‚ad O'Connor, Dolly Parton and Aimee Mann consistently push the levels into the red..."


  • 1.I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got
  • 2.Joy
  • 3.Down to Zero
  • 4.The High Road
  • 5.On the Surface
  • 6.Just Say So
  • 7.Little Sparrow
  • 8.How Am I Different
  • 9.Only Time Will Tell Me
  • 10.Sleep to Dream

Product Description:

Personnel: Bettye LaVette (vocals); Lisa Coleman (piano, Wurlitzer piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ); David Piltch (double bass, upright bass); Paul Bryan (electric bass, bass guitar); Valerie Watson, Valerie Watson (background vocals); Chris Bruce (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Doyle Bramhall II (electric guitar); Earl Harvin (drums); Niki Haris (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
Recording information: The Sound Factory (05/10/2005-05/13/2005).
Authors: Elvis Costello; Bonnie Raitt.
Photographer: Kevin Estrada.
Bettye Lavette's superlative a cappella rendition of Sinead O'Connor's "I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got" is a fitting opener to this raw collection of covers by women songwriters like Lucinda Williams, Joan Armatrading, and Dolly Parton. The job done by Lavette and her exemplary backing band on this superb deep soul set is so thoroughly transformational as to make these pop, rock, and country songs entirely their own. Her voice is rough and heartfelt, palpably carrying a weight of heartbreak, the musicians' performances are intimate and spontaneous, and the songs, from Parton's "Little Sparrow" to Bobbie Cryner's undiscovered masterpiece, "Just Say So," are impeccably well-chosen.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 81,764
  • UPC: 045778677221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)