COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!
Hold On
Get email alerts for Toots & The Maytals
MASSIVE CD SALE: $9.80 Limited Time Only
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  XW6A
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 11, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Brook


  • 1.54 - 46
  • 2.Alidina
  • 3.Alidina (Dub)
  • 4.Bim Today (Bam Tomorrow)
  • 5.Bla, Bla, Bla
  • 6.Bla, Bla, Bla (Dub)
  • 7.Do The Reggay
  • 8.Don't Trouble
  • 9.Hold On
  • 10.I Need Your Love
  • 11.I Shall Be Free
  • 12.Image Get A Kick
  • 13.Johnny Cool Man
  • 14.Just Tell Me
  • 15.Monkey Girl
  • 16.Monkey Man
  • 17.Night and Day
  • 18.Oh Yeah

Product Description:

Toots & the Maytals, fronted by the roaring, gospel-inflected singing of Toots Hibbert, were just an island or two away from being an American deep soul singing trio, and these early to mid-'60s recordings show Hibbert beginning to emerge as a kind of Jamaican Otis Redding on sides like the signature "54-46 (That's My Number)," "Alidina," the pleasant and poppy "Hold On," the stomping "Monkey Man," and the truly soulful "Johnny Cool Man," among others. This set doesn't do much more than sketch in the numbers, though, but there's enough here to show what a driving and intense group the Maytals could be. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 883717700438
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)