Margot & the Nuclear So and So's The Bride on the Boxcar: A Decade of Margot Rarities 2004-2014 (5-CD)

The Bride on the Boxcar: A Decade of Margot
Get email alerts for Margot & the Nuclear So and So's
Price: $81.10
List Price: $88.98
You Save: $7.88 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
17 copies available
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  6CYRE
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: October 14, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: Joyful Noise Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Lost at Sea
  • 2.Vampires in Blue Dresses ["525" basement Demo]
  • 3.Lost on 49th St. [Demo]
  • 4.Somewhere the City Lights Leave Us Blind
  • 5.The Stench of Love
  • 6.Waking up and Walking Out
  • 7.I Was Drunk [Demo]
  • 8.Cheap Motel Room
  • 9.On a Freezing Chicago Street ["525" basement Demo]
  • 10.Avalanche
  • 11.Things You Shouldn't Do [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Ain't Afraid of the Devil (Clava)
  • 2.Fingertips
  • 3.Payphone
  • 4.Coonskin Cap [Demo]
  • 5.Don't Bug Me, I'm Drinkin' [Demo]
  • 6.Something in the Way
  • 7.All Through the Night
  • 8.Why Would I Go Ouside? (Clava)
  • 9.Blinkin' Fuzz
  • 10.Broadripple is Burning! - (featuring Lily & Madeleine)
  • 11.Jesus Breaks Your Heart [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Pirates
  • 2.A Tangle of Blonde
  • 3.Broadripple is Burning
  • 4.I Git Even [Demo]
  • 5.As Tall as Cliffs [Demo]
  • 6.Moonshine Baby [Demo]
  • 7.Cam's Piano Opus
  • 8.A Children's Crusade on Acid
  • 9.Whiskey Jingle
  • 10.If Ya Wanna Go Out [Demo]
  • 11.Blue Collar, Red Letter
  • 12.Cold, Kind & Lemon Eyes [Demo]
  • 13.No Vaseline

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Lazy [Demo]
  • 2.Your Sister's House
  • 3.Bleary-eye-d Blue [Living Room Demo]
  • 4.Nixon
  • 5.Vivian
  • 6.Ziggy Stardust
  • 7.Bummer
  • 8.Heart of Darkness
  • 9.Bust up Fantasies [Demo]
  • 10.Beatin' Off in Public
  • 11.You Win [Living Room Demo]
  • 12.Blame the World [Demo]

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Black Demon
  • 2.Birds [Margot 1.0 Recording]
  • 3.Earth to Aliens: What Do You Want? [Margot 1.0 Recording]
  • 4.Will You Love Me Forever? [From "Happy Hour at Spriggs" EP]
  • 5.Bubbleprick
  • 6.I Won't Eat My Vegetables [demo]
  • 7.NYC Hotel Blues ([Margot 1.0 Recording]
  • 8.Francine
  • 9.As Beautiful as Ever [Demo]
  • 10.Lunatic, Lunatic, Lunatic [Demo]
  • 11.There's a Freakshow Downtown [From "Happy Hour at Spriggs" EP]

Product Description:

Liner Note Authors: Greg Dulli; Tom de Savia; John Congleton; Kevin Show; Bean Show; Rhett Miller; Brian Deck.
Recording information: Queensize Twin Aire.
Marking the 11th anniversary of the band, Joyful Noise Recordings presents an expansive five-LP collection of previously unreleased songs, demos, and alternate takes by songwriter Richard Edwards' outfit Margot & the Nuclear So and So's. The Bride on the Boxcar: A Decade of Margot Rarities 2004-2014 offers a full album's worth of outtakes from each of the group's five full-length records to date: Hybristophilia (The Dust of Retreat rarities), Panic Attacks (Low Level Bummer) (Animal!/Not Animal rarities), Now, Let's Risk Our Feathers (Buzzard rarities), Dark Energy in the Spotlight (Rot Gut, Domestic rarities), and You Look Like the Future, Baby (Sling Shot to Heaven rarities). The set also arrives after Edwards' 31st birthday, making it representative of his twenties. Gems among the previously unreleased songs -- and there are more unreleased songs than previously released ones -- include the very first track of the compilation, a tender acoustic duet called "Lost at Sea," and the lovely, regret-seeped rock tune "Lost on 49th St," also from Hybristophilia. That album also features a much more vulnerable (and arguably better if not cleanly ended) demo version of "On a Freezing Chicago Street." Animal!/Not Animal cuts include a winning, grittier, electric guitar-guided version of "Broadripple Is Burning" (a "Living Room Version" appears later) and the unreleased "If Ya Wanna Go Out [Demo]," a sweet and catchy acoustic-guitar ditty ("If you wanna go out, I'll go/But I'd rather stay home, sleep in my bed, smoke cigarettes"). The genial ballad "As Beautiful as Ever" probably didn't belong on the rock-minded Buzzard but still deserves an airing, and a quiet cover of Jules Shear's "All Through the Night" (made popular by Cyndi Lauper) from the Rot Gut, Domestic rarities surprises with its fragility. A nihilistic love song packaged as breezy AM pop, "Bummer" is a standout from the Sling Shot to Heaven rarities and of the whole collection ("I'm gonna love you 'til the big one hits"). At 58 tracks, The Bride on the Boxcar is a lot of Margot, so it's really for devoted fans who want as much of the band's material as they can get. Having said that, Edwards' intimate lyrics and singer/songwriter disposition sit beautifully on the stripped-down production of the majority of the demos and some alternate versions, and the abundance of "new" songs will make it worth the investment for anyone on the fence. ~ Marcy Donelson

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 714270690198
  • Shipping Weight: 1.81/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)