Ice-T O.G. Original Gangster

Melody Maker: Ranked #25 in Melody Maker's list of the top 30 albums of 1991 "...tight, intelligent and matchless musically..."
Get email alerts for Ice-T
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $2 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZENG 64922
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 1991
  • Originally Released: 1991
  • Label: Sire / London/Rhino

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 6/13/91
4 Stars - Excellent - "...Ice-T has forged a flexible, hyperliterate style that sacrifices none of hiphop's rhythmic momentum...his slice-of-street-life stories and badass parables offer a fascinating glimpse into a half-hidden world.."
Melody Maker - 12/91
Ranked #25 in Melody Maker's list of the top 30 albums of 1991 "...tight, intelligent and matchless musically..."


  • 1.Home of the Bodybag
  • 2.First Impression
  • 3.Ziplock
  • 4.Mic Contract
  • 5.Mind over Matter
  • 6.New Jack Hustler
  • 7.Ed
  • 8.Bitches 2
  • 9.Straight Up Nigga
  • 10.O.G. Original Gangster
  • 11.The House
  • 12.Evil E-What About Sex?
  • 13.Fly By
  • 14.Midnight
  • 15.Fried Chicken
  • 16.M.V.P.s
  • 17.Lifestyles of the Rich and Infamous
  • 18.Body Count
  • 19.Prepared to Die
  • 20.Escape from the Killing Fields
  • 21.Street Killer
  • 22.Pulse of the Rhyme
  • 23.The Tower
  • 24.Ya Shoulda Killed Me Last Year

Product Description:

Additional producers: Bilal Bashir, Afrika Islam, Ice-T, DJ Aladdin.
Engineers: Vachik, Dennis Parker, Batte.
Recorded at Syndicate Studios West, Widetracks, Dodge City and Fox Run Studios, Los Angeles, California.
Personnel: Ice-T (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Vachik.
Recording information: Dodge City, Los Angeles, CA; Fox Run Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Syndicate Studios West, Los Angeles, CA; Wide Tracks Studios, Hollywood, CA; Widetracks, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographers: King James Cassimus; Glen E. Friedman.
Unknown Contributor Roles: D Rock; Donald D; Ernie C. ; Nat the Cat; Mooseman; Sean Mac; Charlie Jam; Prince Whip; Randy Mac; Special K.
Arranger: Ice-T.
Often hailed as Ice-T's most ambitious and fully realized album, O.G. ORIGINAL GANGSTER is more sophisticated than the hustler-centered RHYME PAYS, yet less weighted by ideology than THE ICEBERG/FREEDOM OF SPEECH?JUST WATCH WHAT YOU SAY. The record is also more musically adventurous than the spare ICEBERG; help from numerous producers gives 1991's O.G. a dense, contemporary feel, with a sound that recalls the Bomb Squad's production for Public Enemy. From laid-back funk (the title track) to bone-crushing beats ("Midnight"), O.G. runs the gamut in mood and style.
Ice-T synthesizes his different incarnations into one persona here. Remaining true to his South Central, Los Angeles roots, Ice raps about the hardships of ghetto life, but is not beyond detailing his high-rolling, wealthy lifestyle. At his best, Ice-T melds these together in a self-reflexive way, as on "New Jack Hustler" (the theme song to the film NEW JACK CITY, which features Ice-T in a key role), one of O.G.'s standout tracks. There are also meditations on race ("Straight Up Nigga") and philosophically minded tunes ("Mind Over Matter"). Most notably, the song "Body Count" introduced Ice's metal band of the same name, proving beyond a doubt that O.G. is no average hip-hop album.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 97,455
  • UPC: 075992649223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)