Webb Pierce High Geared Daddy

Get email alerts for Webb Pierce
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $7.39 (39% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  6D4W4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 11, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Bear Family Germany


  • 1.High Geared Daddy
  • 2.New Panhandle Rag
  • 3.Heebie Jeebie Blues
  • 4.Georgia Rag
  • 5.Freight Train Blues
  • 6.Hayride Boogie
  • 7.Have You Ever Had the Feeling
  • 8.Drifting Texas Sand
  • 9.You Scared the Love Right Out of Me
  • 10.I'm Gonna See My Baby
  • 11.I Just Can't Be True
  • 12.California Blues
  • 13.In the Jailhouse Now
  • 14.Sneakin' All Around
  • 15.Love, Love, Love
  • 16.Why Baby Why
  • 17.Any Old Time
  • 18.Teen Age Boogie
  • 19.I'm Tired
  • 20.Honky Tonk Song
  • 21.Bye Bye Love
  • 22.Who Wouldn't Love You
  • 23.New Panhandle Rag
  • 24.Holiday for Love
  • 25.The New Raunchy
  • 26.English Sweetheart
  • 27.You'll Come Back
  • 28.Tupelo County Jail
  • 29.After the Boy Gets the Girl
  • 30.Pick Me Up on Your Way Down
  • 31.I Ain't Never
  • 32.Teenage Boogie

Product Description:

Personnel: Webb Pierce (vocals, guitar); Don Winters, Lonnie Melvin Tillis, Red Sovine (vocals); Grady Martin, Hank Garland (guitar, electric guitar); Harold Bradley, James "Jimmie" Selph, Mel Tillis, Ray Edenton, Bill Phillips (guitar); Buddy Attaway (electric guitar); Don Helms, Billy Robinson , Sonny Burnette , Jimmy Day, Shot Jackson (steel guitar); Thomas Lee Jackson Jr., Jack Kay, Allen Dale Potter, Henry Newton "Tommy" Vaden, John Hill (fiddle); Elbert R. "Dutch" McMillan (saxophone); Owen Bradley (piano, organ); Floyd Cramer (piano); Buddy Harman (drums, wood block); Morris Palmer, Farris Coursey (drums).
Recording information: Bradley Film & Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (08/??/1949-05/15/1959); Castle Studio, Nashville, TN (08/??/1949-05/15/1959).
Illustrator: Sven T. Uhrmann.
Photographer: Sven T. Uhrmann.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Neal Matthews, Jr.; Hugh Jarrett; Hugh Gordon Stoker; Hoyt Hawkins.
Country archivist label Bear Family's GONNA SHAKE THIS SHACK TONIGHT series focuses on the rollicking, uptempo sides of honky-tonk giants. Their Webb Pierce entry, HIGH GEARED DADDY, features some of the most infectious, barroom-rocking tracks to come out of 1950s country music. Pierce enjoyed a wildly successful run during the decade, and a goodly number of his most famous tunes are here, like the saloon staple "Honky Tonk Song," the frayed lovers' knot of "Why Baby Why" (featuring Red Sovine), and of course Pierce's wages-of-sin signature song, "In the Jailhouse Now." This 32-track collection surrounds these milestones with lesser-known material that's just as sharp, making this a winning introduction to Pierce's timeless catalog.
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 11,294
  • UPC: 4000127167903
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)