BoDeans Indigo Dreams

Indigo Dreams
Get email alerts for BoDeans
9 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $5 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZDP 644
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 26, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Oar Fin Records


  • 1.Blowin' My Mind
  • 2.Paved In Gold
  • 3.Right Now
  • 4.How Can We
  • 5.Way Down
  • 6.Sad Eyes
  • 7.Wrap Me
  • 8.Me Again
  • 9.Don't Wanna Go
  • 10.Rock N Roll Overdrive
  • 11.Father's Day
  • 12.Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
  • 13.Mercy

Product Description:

Personnel: Kurt Neumann (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, keyboards, drums, percussion); Sam Llanas (vocals, acoustic guitar); Michael Ramos (Hammond b-3 organ, keyboards).
Audio Mixer: Kurt Neumann.
Recording information: One, Two, Tree; Terrarium, Minneapolis.
Photographers: Zack Schnepf; Tessa Torrence.
Indigo Dreams is BoDeans' tenth new studio album in their 25-year recording career and their fifth album (including a live disc) since they ended their eight-year hiatus in 2004. It follows their last LP, Mr. Sad Clown, by less than 16 months, suggesting that now that the band is recording for its own He & He label, there is an incentive to be more prolific. As ever, BoDeans are a cooperative between Kurt Neumann and Sammy Llanas, two differing but complementary musical personalities. All the songs are co-credited to the two, but like such songwriting teams as Lennon/McCartney and Difford/Tilbrook, they seem to write songs separately, or almost so, with two distinct personalities emerging. What appear to be Neumann's songs (on which he sings lead vocals) tend to be examples of songwriting craftsmanship, like the lead-off track "Blowin' My Mind," an evocation of '60s pop/rock down to the slangy title. Llanas, on the other hand, is altogether idiosyncratic, often nakedly emotional and willing to use specific, personal details in his lyrics. In the love song "Way Down," for instance, he provides this verse: "I remember very clearly/We were drinkin' vintage sherry/You left a little drop on your lower lip/I leaned over, and I licked it." Just as they exhibit different writing styles, the two bandleaders have different singing styles, with Neumann displaying a sturdy tenor that has taken on a slight grain over the years, while Llanas has a somewhat whiny but more distinctive high voice. If this were a comedy act like Abbott & Costello, Neumann would be Bud Abbott the straight man, and Llanas, Lou Costello, the clown. But neither of them is trying to be funny on Indigo Dreams. In fact, they are almost in competition to see who can be more melancholy. Llanas scores first with "Paved in Gold," the song that gives the album its title, as he provides pocket descriptions of people who aspire, but are disappointed. "No one ever dreams of being old," he sings, "Everyone sees their indigo dreams paved in gold." For his part, Neumann looks with sadness at what seems to be a romantic relationship, or perhaps a long-term friendship, that's heading for the rocks in "How Can We," asking, "How can we go on?/How can we stay strong?/How can we even try/To say goodbye?" Both musicians take comfort in music itself, with Llanas reminiscing about the joy of singing old songs (many from the '70s) in "Sad Eyes," which uses enough of Robert John's hit of that title to earn him a co-writing credit. The music is the only good thing recalled in the hard-rocking cautionary tale "Rock N Roll Overdrive," which seems to be an autobiographical account of BoDeans' unhappy encounter with the major-label music business in their early days. By the album's end, with "Mercy," Llanas is confessing his sins to a priest and seeking salvation. It's a hopeful end to a collection in which he and his longtime partner seem to have reviewed their personal and professional histories with a combination of affection and regret. [On August 18, 2011, 23 days after the release of Indigo Dreams, Sammy Llanas announced his departure from BoDeans.] ~ William Ruhlmann
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 3,186
  • UPC: 786984064428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)