Melodisc Records Of Hollywood 1945-1946 (2-CD)
by Various Artists

Melodisc Records Of Hollywood 1945-1946 (2-CD)
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $6.01 (35% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZACR 3066
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 8, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Acrobat

Description by

Daniel F. O'Brien at Melodisc Records on Hollywood's Sunset Boulevard took one of the clearest "audio pictures" we have of Los Angeles' jazz activity on Central Avenue during the mid-1940s. O'Brien cut just under 40 platters that were released between June 1945 and autumn 1946. This flurry of activity matched the urgency and raw excitement going on in the halls and venues around Hollywood. Clubs no longer booked New Orleans revival bands to fill seats but picked up on fashionable be-boppers, who with their new-found harmonic sophistication and rhythmic complexities, competed with blues and boogie-based small swing units and honkers, in an economic climate inhospitable to the maintenance of orchestras and large bands. This anthology by celebrated archivist, collector and writer Opal Louis Nations is a fascinating insight into a highly entertaining strand of musical history. Please note that these recordings have been transferred from original 78s, some in poor condition. The tracks have been cleaned as far as practical in re-mastering, but where this would have prejudiced the essential character and integrity of the performance, we have chosen to minimize the de-noising process, and some tracks therefore retain clicks and surface noise. We are sure collectors would prefer to have them in this form than not at all.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Abernathy's Voo-It Voo-It
  • 2.Night Mist - Howard McGhee & His Orchestra
  • 3.Hour of Parting, The - George's Dukes & Duchess
  • 4.Abernathy's Boogie
  • 5.Slowin' Down the Blues
  • 6.Cherokee - George's Dukes & Duchess
  • 7.Mello Reeni Riff - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 8.Puttin' You Down Blues - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 9.Voot Rock - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 10.Baby Baby Blues - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 11.Laughing At Life - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 12.Till the Very End of My Days - King Perry & His Pied Pipers
  • 13.That's All She Wrote, 'Cuase the Pencil Broke - The Four Blazes / George Crawford
  • 14.Let's Boogie - The Four Blazes / George Crawford
  • 15.Big Leg Mama's Fine, The - The Four Blazes / George Crawford
  • 16.I Never Had a Dream To My Name - The Four Blazes / George Crawford
  • 17.Boogin' At Berg's - Slim Gaillard Quartet
  • 18.Laguna - Slim Gaillard Quartet
  • 19.Dunkin's Bagel - Slim Gaillard Quartet
  • 20.Don't Blame Me - Slim Gaillard Quartet
  • 21.Lonely Blues - George's Dukes & Duchess / Marion Abernathy
  • 22.Ink Splink - The Buddy Banks Orchestra / Marion Abernathy
  • 23.Roses of Picardy - Marion Abernathy / Buddy Bank Sextet

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Goin' For the Okey Doke - Marion Abernathy / Buddy Bank Sextet
  • 2.Hey Lawdy Mama - Flennoy Trio
  • 3.My Honey Chile - Flennoy Trio
  • 4.Poor Butterfly - Dan Grissom / Flennoy Trio
  • 5.Cherry - Dan Grissom / Flennoy Trio
  • 6.Ride, Red, Ride - Counts & The Countess
  • 7.Rip Up the Join - Counts & The Countess
  • 8.King Perry Blues - King Perry Quintet
  • 9.Man I Love, The - King Perry Quintet
  • 10.A Chicken Ain't Nothin' But a Bird - King Perry Quintet
  • 11.Song of the Islands - King Perry Quintet
  • 12.Silver Symphony - Jack Mcvea All Stars
  • 13.Scrub Sweep and Mop - Jack Mcvea All Stars
  • 14.New Deal - Jack Mcvea All Stars
  • 15.Fightin' Mama Blues - Jack Mcvea All Stars
  • 16.Grand Slam - Karl George Octet
  • 17.Baby It's Up To You - Karl George Octet
  • 18.Peek-a-Boo - Karl George Octet
  • 19.How Am I To Know - Karl George Octet
  • 20.Don't Blame Me - Joe Thomas Orchestra
  • 21.For Boobs Only - Joe Thomas Orchestra
  • 22.You're Buggin' Me - Joe Thomas Orchestra
  • 23.Sequence - Joe Thomas Orchestra
Acrobat Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,320
  • UPC: 824046306625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)