Lenny Kravitz Mama Said [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

Rolling Stone: Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Get email alerts for Lenny Kravitz
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $1.99 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GEEY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 5, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Virgin Records Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/13/99, p.55
Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."
Rolling Stone - 4/18/91
3 Stars - Good - "...a talent for crafting and arranging engaging songs..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Fields of Joy
  • 2.Always On the Run
  • 3.Stand By My Woman
  • 4.It Ain't Over 'til It's Over
  • 5.More Than Anything In This World
  • 6.What Goes Around Comes Around
  • 7.The Difference Is Why
  • 8.Stop Draggin' Around
  • 9.Flower For Zoe
  • 10.Fields of Joy (Reprise)
  • 11.All I Ever Wanted
  • 12.When the Morning Turns To Night
  • 13.What the ... Are We Saying?
  • 14.Butterfly
  • 15.Light Skin Girl From London
  • 16.I'll Be Around
  • 17.Always On the Run [Instrumental]
  • 18.It Ain't Over 'til It's Over [12" Remix Instrumental]
  • 19.It Ain't Over 'til It's Over [12" Extended / Dub Version]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Riding On the Wings of My Lord [Rough Demo]
  • 2.It Ain't Over 'til It's Over [Home Demo]
  • 3.What the ... Are We Saying? [Home Demo]
  • 4.The Difference is Why [Home Demo]
  • 5.Riding On the Wings of My Lord [Funky Vocal]
  • 6.Riding On the Wings of My Lord [Instrumental]
  • 7.Framed, Lying, Crying [Instrumental Segue]
  • 8.Stand By My Woman [Instrumental]
  • 9.Stop Draggin' Around [Live in Rotterdam]
  • 10.Always On the Run [Live in Rotterdam]
  • 11.Fields of Joy [Live in Rotterdam]
  • 12.Stand By My Woman [Live in Rotterdam]
  • 13.More Than Anything in This World [Live in Rotterdam]
  • 14.Always On the Run [Live in Japan]
  • 15.Stop Draggin' Around [Live in Japan]
  • 16.What the ... Are We Saying? [Live in Japan]

Product Description:

Personnel: Lenny Kravitz (vocals, guitar, organ, bass, drums); Slash, Adam Widoff (guitar); Nancy Ives (cello); Karl Denson, Butch Tomas (saxophone); Mike Hunter (trumpet); Sean Ono Lennon (piano); Henry Hirsch (keyboards, bass); Lebron Scott (bass); Zoro (drums).
Audio Mixers: Evren G”knar; Henry Hirsch.
Audio Remasterer: Evren G”knar.
Photographers: David Hindley; James Calderaro.
On MAMA SAID, Lenny Kravitz builds on the edgy soul-rock of his debut, streamlining his sound in both songcraft and production. The opener, "Fields of Joy," moves from ethereal verses that evoke a bucolic summer's day to power-chord-heavy refrains and screaming guitar solos. The Stax/Volt-esque soul of "Stand By My Woman," the bossa nova groove of "What Goes Around Comes Around" (which finds Kravitz mining a clear Curtis Mayfield influence), and the heavily phased rocker "Stop Draggin' Around" are all finely honed tributes to classic '60s and '70s sounds.
That Kravitz is an unabashed fan of the old school is what, ultimately, makes his music so enjoyable, and he manages to synthesize his influences with style and economy. MAMA SAID's two standout tracks, "Always on the Run" and "It Ain't Over 'Til It's Over," are cases in point. The former is a lean, riff-driven rock song that recalls both Jimi Hendrix and early Funkadelic; the latter a string-sweetened ballad that could have been pulled straight from the Philly Soul catalogue. Kravitz's flair for re-imagining rock, pop, and soul, topped by his fine production sense, keeps it all appealing. The buttons he pushes are no less pleasurable for being so familiar.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099964432021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)