COVID-19: We are currently operating in a limited manner. Due to social-distancing practices and increased order volume, please expect longer than usual wait times & shipping delays.

Eddie Bond Rockin' Daddy (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Eddie Bond
List Price: $29.99
You Save: $2.99 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EV48
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 15, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Double Duty Lovin'
  • 2.Talking Off the Wall
  • 3.Love Makes a Fool (Everyday)
  • 4.Your Eyes
  • 5.I Got a Woman
  • 6.Rockin' Daddy
  • 7.Slip, Slip Slippin' In
  • 8.Baby, Baby, Baby (What Am I Gonna Do)
  • 9.Flip, Flop Mama
  • 10.Boppin' Bonnie
  • 11.You're Part of Me
  • 12.King on Your Throne
  • 13.They Say We're Too Young
  • 14.Backslidin'
  • 15.Love, Love, Love
  • 16.Lovin' You, Lovin' You
  • 17.Hershey Bar
  • 18.One Step Close to You
  • 19.Show Me (Without Sax)
  • 20.Broke My Guitar
  • 21.This Old Heart of Mine
  • 22.Show Me (With Sax)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.One More Memory
  • 2.I Can't Quit
  • 3.My Bucket's Got a Hole in It
  • 4.Back Home in Indiana - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 5.They'll Never Take Her Love From Me
  • 6.The Day I Found You
  • 7.Standing in the Window
  • 8.Back Street Affair
  • 9.Our Secret Rendezvous
  • 10.Your Eyes
  • 11.Double Duty Lovin'
  • 12.I'd Just Be Fool Enough
  • 13.You Nearly Lose Your Mind
  • 14.I Thought I Heard You Call My Name
  • 15.Big Boss Man
  • 16.Rockin' Daddy
  • 17.In My Solitude
  • 18.Most of All I Want to See Jesus
  • 19.Where Could I Go But to the Lord
  • 20.Satisfied
  • 21.When They Ring Those Golden Bells
  • 22.If We Never Meet Again
  • 23.Will I Be Lost or Will I Be Saved
  • 24.Just a Closer Walk With Thee
  • 25.Pass Me Not, Oh Gentle Saviour
  • 26.I Saw the Light
  • 27.Letter to God
  • 28.Precious Memories
  • 29.Hallelujah Way

Product Description:

Contains 51 tracks recorded for Ekko, Mercury, Sun and Philips.
Rockin' Daddy presents two discs of Eddie Bond's complete recordings from 1955 through 1962. The first disc includes Bond's ten classic rockabilly numbers surrounded by his early country sides, and makes a great extended album, capturing both sides of his work in the first flourish of his youth. But it's the second disc, which covers Bond's 1962-vintage recordings released by Sun, that is the surprise. This should be the less interesting and important disc, because he's slowed down as a maturing artist in his late twenties, and is doing an album's worth of gospel numbers -- but the music is as exciting as the earlier stuff, in a different way. His performances of the religious songs ("Just a Closer Walk With Thee," "Will I Be Lost or Will I Be Saved," etc.) are surprisingly straightforward and non-melodramatic, making it all exceptionally appealing when compared with the overwhelming seriousness of most country religious songs of the era. He does the most driving (really hard-rocking) version of "I Saw the Light" that anyone has ever heard, one that gets the listener not only wanting to sing along but tap his foot as well. Equally important, the playing on these numbers is as fresh as his best stuff from the '50s, only a little slower, which is why his remake of "Rockin' Daddy" is pretty cool, if not the groundbreaking effort that the 1956 version was. There are also surprises in the instrumentation throughout -- the late-'50s country stuff on disc one features some of the best, most understated saxophone you'll ever hear on a country session, and organist Jimmy Smith, playing on the religious stuff, manages to be both reverent and lively. Cool all the way through. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 46,504
  • UPC: 4000127157089
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)