Complete Sun Singles, Volume 4 (4-CD)
by Various Artists

List Price: $124.99
You Save: $53.99 (43% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  AAWX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 3, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You're Just My Kind - Will Mercer
  • 2.Ballad Of St. Marks - Will Mercer
  • 3.Little Queenie - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 4.I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 5.You Tell Me - Johnny Cash
  • 6.Goodbye Little Darlin' - Johnny Cash
  • 7.What A Life - Jimmy Isle
  • 8.Together - Jimmy Isle
  • 9.Alice Blue Gown - Ray B. Anthony
  • 10.St. Louis Blues - Ray B. Anthony
  • 11.Straight A's In Love - Johnny Cash
  • 12.I Love You Because - Johnny Cash
  • 13.Thousand Guitars, A - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 14.Is It Too Late - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 15.Walkin' And Talkin' - Mack Owen
  • 16.Somebody Just Like You - Mack Owen
  • 17.Old Black Joe - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 18.Baby Baby Bye Bye - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 19.Legend Of The Big Steeple, The - Paul Richey
  • 20.Broken Hearted Willie - Paul Richey
  • 21.Whose Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet - Rayburn Anthony
  • 22.There's No Tomorrow - Rayburn Anthony
  • 23.Bobaloo - Bill Johnson
  • 24.Bad Times Ahead - Bill Johnson
  • 25.I'm Gonna Take A Walk - Sonny Wilson
  • 26.Great Pretender, The - Sonny Wilson

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Burned The Bridges - Bobbie Jean
  • 2.Cheaters Never Win - Bobboe Jean
  • 3.Story Of A Broken Heart, The - Johnny Cash
  • 4.Down The Street To 301 - Johnny Cash
  • 5.John Henry - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 6.Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 7.Is It Me - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 8.South Bound Line - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 9.Guess I'd Better Go - Bill Strength
  • 10.Senorita - Bill Strength
  • 11.Mean Eyed Cat - Johnny Cash
  • 12.Port Of Lonely Hearts - Johnny Cash
  • 13.Good Guy Always Wins, The - Lance Roberts
  • 14.Time Is Right, The - Lance Roberts
  • 15.I Gotta Know - Tony Rossini
  • 16.Is It Too Late - Tony Rossini
  • 17.Rockin'-Lang-Syne - Rockin' Stockin'
  • 18.Yuleville USA - Rockin' Stockin'
  • 19.You Don't Love Me Anymore - Ira Jay II
  • 20.More Than Anything - Ira Jay II
  • 21.When I Get Paid - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 22.Love Made A Fool Of Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 23.Sweet And Easy To Love - Roy Orbison
  • 24.Devil Doll - Roy Orbison

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sad News - Bobby Sheridan
  • 2.Red Man - Bobby Sheridan
  • 3.Oh Lonesome Me - Johnny Cash
  • 4.Life Goes On - Johnny Cash
  • 5.What'd I Say - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 6.Livin' Lovin' Wreck - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 7.U.T. Party (Part 1) - George Klein
  • 8.U.T. Party (Part 2) - George Klein
  • 9.Belle Of The Suwannee - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 10.Eternally - Tracy Pendarvis
  • 11.Groovy Train - Wade Cagle
  • 12.Highland Rock - Wade Cagle
  • 13.I'll Wait Forever - Anita Wood
  • 14.I Can't Show How I Feel - Anita Wood
  • 15.I'll Stick By You - Harold Dorman
  • 16.There They Go - Harold Dorman
  • 17.Sugartime - Johnny Cash
  • 18.My Treasure - Johnny Cash
  • 19.Cold Cold Heart - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 20.It Won't Happen With Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 21.I Forgot To Remember To Forget - Shirley Sisk
  • 22.Other Side - Shirley Sisk
  • 23.Well I Ask Ya - Tony Rossini
  • 24.Darlena - Tony Rossini

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.As Long As I Live - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 2.Save The Last Dance For Me - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 3.Since I Met You - Don Hosea
  • 4.Uh Huh Unh - Don Hosea
  • 5.Everybody's Searching - Bobby Wood
  • 6.Human Emotions - Bobby Wood
  • 7.Uncle Jonah's Place - Harold Dorman
  • 8.Just One Step - Harold Dorman
  • 9.Money - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 10.Bonnie B. - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 11.Travlin' Salesman - Ray Smith
  • 12.I Won't Miss You - Ray Smith
  • 13.How Well I Know - Rayburn Anthony
  • 14.Big Dream - Rayburn Anthony
  • 15.I've Been Twistin' - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 16.Ramblin' Rose - Ray Smith
  • 17.Candy Doll - Ray Smith
  • 18.Hey, Boss Man - Ray Smith
  • 19.Blue Train - Johnny Cash
  • 20.Born To Lose - Johnny Cash
  • 21.In The Beginning - Harold Dorman
  • 22.Wait 'Til Saturday Night - Harold Dorman
  • 23.After School - Tony Rossini
  • 24.Just Around The Corner - Tony Rossini
  • 25.Sweet Little Sixteen - Jerry Lee Lewis
  • 26.How's My Ex Treating You - Jerry Lee Lewis

Product Description:

By the time the singles on this four-disc set were released (1959 into 1962), Sun was a much different label than the one that discovered Elvis Presley just a few years earlier. Presley, Johnny Cash, Carl Perkins and Roy Orbison had moved to other labels, and Jerry Lee Lewis was in the middle of trying to reassemble the pieces of his career. Label owner Sam Phillips was in the midst of leaving his fabled 706 Union Memphis Recording Service for a new studio across town, never again finding the warm intimacy that graced his early recorded efforts. The label also pursued trends that seemed to be selling at that moment, and largely gone was that anarchic spirit that made all the early Sun issues so legendary. But there was still a pronounced regional flavor and inherent sound to a Sun record -- even the ones cut in Nashville during this period -- that emerged from the grooves, no matter how much the original master tape was embalmed in chirping female choruses and syrupy strings. Disc one sports more than a few classic sides -- including Rayburn Anthony's "Alice Blue Gown" and Tracy Pendarvis' double-sided blast from Sun's past, "A Thousand Guitars"/"Is It Too Late" -- amid the commercial dross. There were other stray nods to Sun's rockin' past with Sonny Wilson's "The Great Pretender" (sporting one of the most confused guitar breaks ever released on the label) and "I'm Gonna Take a Walk," but perhaps even more interesting was the continual mining of the vaults for more Johnny Cash sides. Disc two follows this pattern, with a pair of Jerry Lee Lewis 45s and Cash singles standing alongside Tracy Pendarvis' "Is It Me" as musical high points, but these were severely undercut by the issuance of pop-inspired crossover material. Disc three kicks off with a major surprise, a two-sided Charlie Rich instrumental issued under the name Bobby Sheridan. More Cash material from the vaults is aboard, along with Jerry Lee's back-to-the-charts hit, "What'd I Say." The final disc illustrates what a hit record did to Jerry Lee's stock at the label, as Sun issued one single after another in its wake, scoring another hit with "Money" alongside "Sweet Little Sixteen," the last Sun chart entry. Harold Dorman's "Uncle Jonah's Place," Johnny Cash's "Blue Train" and Don Hosea's "Uh Huh Huh" (actually Willie Cobb's "You Don't Love Me") complete the list of listenable items on this set. Sun was nearing the end of the line as well as changing its musical direction, but there was still great stuff to be found in their release schedule, and this box nicely collects it all up in one place. ~ Cub Koda
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,362
  • UPC: 4000127158048
  • Shipping Weight: 2.57/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)