That'll Flat Git It!, Volume 13: Rockabilly from the Vaults of ABC Records
by Various Artists

Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  KWQQ
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 25, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Black Slacks - Joe Bennett & The Sparkletones
  • 2.All I Can Do Is Cry - Wayne Walker
  • 3.Bertha Lou - Clint Miller
  • 4.I'm Hungry For Your Lovin' - Danny Dill
  • 5.Don't You Hear Me Calling, Baby - Ronnie Haig
  • 6.Everybody's Body - George Hamilton IV
  • 7.Pretty Bad Blues - Ronnie Self
  • 8.Rhonda Lee - Al Hendrix
  • 9.I Want You - Jackie Lee Cochran
  • 10.Baby She's Gone - Jack Scott
  • 11.Rockateen - Satellites
  • 12.Baby Let's Play House - Vince Everett
  • 13.You're Just My Kind - Jay B. Loyd
  • 14.Later Baby - Johnny Janis
  • 15.Boogie Woogie Country Girl - Jo Ann Campbell
  • 16.Cotton Pickin' Rocker - Joe Bennett & The Sparkletones
  • 17.Baby, Baby, Baby - Jerry & Wayne Newton
  • 18.Doggone It Baby, I'm In Love - Clint Miller
  • 19.Miss Lazy - Ronnie Toth
  • 20.If You Can't Rock Me - Debbie Stevens
  • 21.If You Don't Know, I Ain't Gonna Tell - George Hamilton IV
  • 22.Bop Boy - Bill Hayes
  • 23.Go Daddy Rock - Al Hendrix
  • 24.Buy A Car - Jackie Lee Cochran
  • 25.Two-Timing Woman - Jack Scott
  • 26.Linda Jean - Satellites
  • 27.I Ain't Gonna Be Your Lowdown Dog No More - Vince Everett
  • 28.Cross My Heart - Jay B. Loyd
  • 29.Come Back Again - Joey Du'Ambra
  • 30.Pretty Girl - The Dusters

Product Description:

Vol. 13 in Bear Family's excellent That'll Flat Git It! series chronicles ABC's attempts to cash in on the rock & roll craze. The 30 tracks were recorded between 1956 and 1962 and contain a very high ratio of hot rocking tunes. Most of the artists never made the big time, but that doesn't mean they weren't good. Some of the highlights of the set are Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones' romping "Black Slacks," Jackie Lee Cochran's wild "I Want You," the Satellites' primitive "Rockateen," Jo Ann Campbell's rip-roaring "Boogie Woogie Country Girl," Vince Everett's "I Ain't Gonna Be Your Lowdown Dog No More," and the Dusters' lo-fi rockabilly-doo wop rocker "Pretty Girl." Among the obscure artists are a couple of folks who made a name for themselves further down the road: George Hamilton IV delivers two songs from the mid-'50s when he was just beginning his career, and a very young Wayne Newton rocks out with his brother Jerry on the very cool "Baby, Baby, Baby." He isn't exactly Elvis but Wayne rocks surprisingly hard for a goofy-looking kid. There are also a couple of solid tracks from rockabilly royalty; Ronnie Self's tough as nails "Pretty Bad Blues" and Jack Scott's pounding rockers "Baby She's Gone" and "Two Timin' Woman" give ample proof as to why they were royalty. Their tracks stand head and shoulders above the rest of the disc. This is one of the strongest volumes in the series and is highly recommended to rockabilly fanatics and anyone who wants to hear an exciting bunch of wild early rockers. ~ Tim Sendra

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127159724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)