COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

George Michael Listen Without Prejudice / MTV Unplugged (2-CD)

Rolling Stone: 3.5 Stars - Very Good - "...For the most part, this album succeeds in its effort to establish Michael's seriousness and deliver him from caricature..."
Get email alerts for George Michael
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  6E59D
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 20, 2017
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/4/90
3.5 Stars - Very Good - "...For the most part, this album succeeds in its effort to establish Michael's seriousness and deliver him from caricature..."
Q - 12/99, p.68
Included in Q Magazine's "90 Best Albums Of The 1990s."
5 Stars - Indispensable - Ranked by Q as the #2 Album of 1990.
Stereo Review (1/91) - Best Recording of the Month - "...It is tuneful, inventive, and rebellious, unwilling to play it safe even when it sounds most conformist..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Praying for Time
  • 2.Freedom! '90
  • 3.They Won't Go When I Go
  • 4.Something to Save
  • 5.Cowboys and Angels
  • 6.Waiting for That Day
  • 7.Mother's Pride
  • 8.Heal the Pain
  • 9.Soul Free
  • 10.Waiting (Reprise)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Freedom! '90
  • 2.Fastlove
  • 3.I Can't Make You Love Me
  • 4.Father Figure
  • 5.You Have Been Loved
  • 6.Everything She Wants
  • 7.The Strangest Thing
  • 8.Older
  • 9.Star People
  • 10.Praying for Time
  • 11.Fantasy

Product Description:

Personnel: George Michael (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass, percussion); Phil Palmer (guitar); Emily Burridge, Alfia Nakipbekova (cello); Andy Hamilton (saxophone); Chris Cameron (piano, keyboards); Tony Patler (keyboards); Deon Estus (bass, background vocals); Ian Thomas (drums); Danny Cummings (percussion); Shirley Lewis (background vocals).
Recorded at Sarm West and Metropolis Studios, London, England.
Photographers: Brad Branson; Russell Young.
From its odd, defensive title to the announcement that none of the album's videos would include the photogenic singer/songwriter, George Michael's second solo album consciously repositioned the ex-Wham! frontman as a mature artist rather than a teenybopper idol. Indeed, the video for "Freedom '90," which shares only its title with Wham's 1984 hit, features the ritual burning of Michael's trademark leather jacket.
Career intent aside, LISTEN WITHOUT PREJUDICE is an excellent adult-pop album opening with the tender "Praying For Time" and continuing through nine more excellent, well-sung, and melodic examples of smooth commercial pop, the highlight being the angry "They Won't Go When I Go." Although a more dance-oriented LISTEN WITHOUT PREJUDICE, VOLUME TWO was due for release shortly after the first volume, it was never issued. This projected follow-up may be yet another casualty of the protracted legal battle between George Michael and Sony Music that derailed the singer's career for over half a decade.

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 79,693
  • UPC: 888751580527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19