Teenage Rock'n Roll Party
by Various Artists

List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.39 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  XCHR
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 4, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Ace Records Uk


  • 1.All Night Long - Gray, John
  • 2.Old Folks' Boogie - Green, S
  • 3.Slow Down - Williams, Larry
  • 4.Blue Jeans (And a Boy's Shirt) - Trout, Glenn
  • 5.That's Alright Baby - Harpo, Slim
  • 6.Sweetheart Please Don't Go - Williams, M
  • 7.Crying My Heart Out - Weiss, Hy
  • 8.Roll, Hot Rod, Roll - Scott, Winfield
  • 9.Jump Jack Jump - Taylor, M
  • 10.Yama, Yama, Pretty Mama - Berry, Richard
  • 11.You Know You're Doing Me Wrong - Cita, Raoul
  • 12.These Golden Rings - Strangers
  • 13.My Desire - Josea, Joe
  • 14.Night of the Werewolf - Wagstaff, J
  • 15.Dance to It (Chicken Stuff #2) - Wilson, H
  • 16.Have a Mercy Miss Percy - Josea, J
  • 17.Hands Off - Bowman, Priscilla
  • 18.The Can't Believe You Wanna Leave - Price, L
  • 19.Masquerade Is Over - Driver, C
  • 20.Those Lonely, Lonely Nights - King, Earl
  • 21.Wet Back Hop - Higgins, C
  • 22.Hey Girl, Hey Boy - McLollie, O
  • 23.A Let's Go Boppin' Tonight - Ferrier
  • 24.Hit, Git and Split - Smith, Paul [1]
  • 25.Right Now - Hightower
  • 26.Shake Your Hips - Harpo, Slim
  • 27.Look Out Miss James - Berry, Richard
  • 28.Who's Been Jivin' You - Crudup, Arthur
  • 29.Sweet Dreams - Ling, S
  • 30.Sweet Dreams - Gibson, D.

Product Description:

This 30-track compilation draws the majority of its contents from 1950s-era West Coast and Southern labels both great and small, including selections from Specialty, Modern, Era, Excello, Goldband, and Johnny Otis' Dig label. While labeled a "rock'n'roll party," the majority of contents compiled here are straight-up rockin' R&B: "Old Folks' Boogie," by Al Simmons with Slim Green and the Cats From Fresno, takes John Lee Hooker's "Boogie Chillen" and Junior Parker's "Feelin' Good" and reduces them down to a single riff that's even more elemental than those two bare-bones boogies, if such an artistic notion is possible. Several artists right on the edge between rhythm and blues and rock & roll are featured here, including Little Richard, Larry Williams, Young Jessie, and Richard Berry, and blues artists with some rockin' in their blood get their due here as well with Slim Harpo, Johnny "Guitar" Watson ("Those Lonely Lonely Nights," with its famous one-note solo), and Hop Wilson all making appearances. Honking West Coast sax men Joe Houston and Chuck Higgins contribute a track apiece, while the doo wop side of the equation primarily comes from selections released by the East Coast-based Old Town Records, with the Harptones, Jive 5, and the Cleftones all contributing to the mix. This collection shows considerable depth and breadth, and brings together tracks that seldom make it onto packages like this. Well done. ~ Cub Koda

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,729
  • UPC: 029667155526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)