James Hunter ...Believe What I Say

Dirty Linen: "The rougher edges suit not only favorites...but any of the 10 Hunter originals, which sound as if they were penned when his predecessors were in their prime."
Get email alerts for James Hunter
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.19 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  678SY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 5, 1996
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Ace Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 2/97, p.95
3 Stars (out of 5) - "...He's blessed with an archetypal soul holler, yelping and squealing with rough-edged precision, employing some delicate phrasing as he dodges effortlessly around the beat....Impressive..."
Dirty Linen - p.91
"The rougher edges suit not only favorites...but any of the 10 Hunter originals, which sound as if they were penned when his predecessors were in their prime."
No Depression - p.116
"[Y]ou realize he has some charming lines to go with that voice built for romance."


  • 1.Two Can Play
  • 2.Way Down Inside
  • 3.The Very Thought of You
  • 4.It Ain't Funny
  • 5.Turn on Your Love Light
  • 6.Let Me Know
  • 7.I'll Walk Away
  • 8.I Wanna Get Old with You
  • 9.Hallelujah, I Love Her So
  • 10.Believe What I Say
  • 11.Out of Sight
  • 12.Don't Step on It
  • 13.Hear Me Calling
  • 14.Ain't Nothing You Can Do

Product Description:

Personnel includes: James Hunter, Van Morrison (vocals).
Personnel: James Hunter (vocals, guitar); Van Morrison (vocals); Damian Hand (tenor saxophone); Nick Lunt (baritone saxophone); Dave Priseman (trumpet); Alex Lewis (piano); Jon Lee (drums, percussion); Doris Troy (background vocals).
Recording information: Protocol Studios, London, England.
The singer/songwriter James Hunter introduced his retro blue-eyed soul approach with this 1996 debut. The smooth Sam Cooke/Clyde McPhatter-influenced vocals weren't quite as confident at his career's start, but for the most part, those smitten by People Gonna Talk will find this a terrific addition to their small Hunter collections. To his credit, Van Morrison was an early supporter, and he appears here on two Bobby "Blue" Bland covers. Morrison had already covered "Ain't Nothing You Can Do" on his live It's Too Late to Stop Now release, so it's likely he brought that to Hunter's attention. "Turn on Your Lovelight" sounds like it could have come off Morrison's His Band and the Street Choir, as he trades verses and harmonizes with Hunter in a spirited performance. Hunter's vocals emphasize Ray Charles more on this album, and not just on the cover of "Hallelujah I Love Her So." The original "Let Me Know" is fashioned from Charles' soul-blues-gospel, right down to the Raelettes-styled backing vocals. Damian Hand and Nick Lunt's sax section is integral to the snappy groove, and bringing the great soul woman Doris Troy along for a duet on "Hear Me Calling" is another classy move. But it's Hunter's terrific voice, sparse yet jazzy guitar, and excellent original songs that make this album so fresh, crisp, and hip. ~ Hal Horowitz

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 83,124
  • UPC: 029667163620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)