Robert Gordon with Link Wray / Fresh Fish Special

Get email alerts for Robert Gordon
3 ratings
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.39 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  Q26G
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 1997
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Ace Records Uk


  • 1.Red Hot - (studio)
  • 2.I Sure Miss You - (studio)
  • 3.Summertime Blues - (studio)
  • 4.Boppin' The Blues - (studio)
  • 5.Sweet Surrender - (studio)
  • 6.Flyin' Saucers Rock 'N' Roll - (studio)
  • 7.Fool - (studio)
  • 8.It's In The Bottle - (studio)
  • 9.Woman - (studio)
  • 10.Is This The Way - (studio)
  • 11.Way I Walk - (studio)
  • 12.Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache - (studio)
  • 13.If This Is Wrong - (studio)
  • 14.Five Days, Five Days - (studio)
  • 15.Fire - (studio)
  • 16.I Want To Be Free - (studio)
  • 17.Twenty Flight Rock - (studio)
  • 18.Sea Cruise - (studio)
  • 19.Lonesome Train - (studio)
  • 20.Blue Eyes - (studio)
  • 21.Endless Sleep - (studio)

Product Description:

This collection of recordings by both Robert Gordon and Link Wray features Gordon's hit "Red Hot," as well as versions of "Sea Cruise," "Fire," and "Red Cadillac And A Black Moustache."
Rockabilly was pretty much a dead issue as far as American music fans were concerned when Robert Gordon released the two albums featured on this CD, and if he didn't kickstart the revival that would take hold a few years later all by his lonesome, he was certainly carrying the flag at a crucial time. Gordon also gave a major boost to the career of legendary guitar mauler Link Wray, who gets co-star billing on their two albums together, and though Gordon's classic take on rockabilly didn't always mesh with Wray's tough, noisy attack, Wray certainly made the most of his presence here, sounding potent if restrained on the quieter numbers and blowing the roof off when the opportunity knocked. If these albums have a flaw, it's the material: both 1977's Robert Gordon with Link Wray and 1978's Fresh Fish Special are dominated by rockabilly classics that most fans of first-era rock are very -- but very -- familiar with, and as good as Gordon sounds on them, he can't quite top the originals. However, that wasn't so much the case when these albums were cut, and while Gordon doesn't get the room to put much of a new stamp on "The Way I Walk," "Flyin' Saucers Rock & Roll," or "Summertime Blues," he sings them like they hold the keys to the universe, and his enthusiasm is a big part of what makes these albums work. Anyone into second generation rockabilly should dig this jive just fine. ~ Mark Deming

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 86,324
  • UPC: 029667165624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)