Neil Diamond Hot August Night III [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + Blu-ray)

Hot August Night III [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD +
Get email alerts for Neil Diamond
Price: $55
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $4.98 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  6QDW8
on most orders of $60+
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 17, 2018
  • Originally Released: 2018
  • Label: Neil Diamond

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Overture
  • 2.Soolaimon
  • 3.Beautiful Noise
  • 4.Forever in Blue Jeans
  • 5.Love on the Rocks
  • 6.Hello Again
  • 7.September Morn
  • 8.Play Me
  • 9.Shilo
  • 10.Red, Red Wine
  • 11.You Got to Me
  • 12.Girl, You'll Be a Woman Soon
  • 13.Thank the Lord for fhe Night Time
  • 14.Cherry, Cherry
  • 15.Kentucky Woman
  • 16.Solitary Man
  • 17.Glory Road
  • 18.Chelsea Morning
  • 19.I'm a Believer
  • 20.Happy Birthday Rose
  • 21.Cracklin' Rosie

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  • 2.Pretty Amazing Grace
  • 3.We
  • 4.Stones
  • 5.You Don't Bring Me Flowers
  • 6.Holly Holy
  • 7.Morningside
  • 8.Crunchy Granola Suite
  • 9.Sweet Caroline
  • 10.Sweet Caroline (Reprise)
  • 11.I Am... I Said
  • 12.Walk Off
  • 13.America
  • 14.Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show
  • 15.I've Been This Way Before
  • 16.Walk Off
  • 17.Band Bows
  • 18.Audience Exit

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Overture
  • 2.Soolaimon
  • 3.Beautiful Noise
  • 4.Forever In Blue Jeans
  • 5.Love On The Rocks
  • 6.Hello Again
  • 7.September Morn
  • 8.Play Me
  • 9.Shilo
  • 10.Red, Red Wine
  • 11.You Got To Me
  • 12.Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon
  • 13.Thank The Lord For The Night Time
  • 14.Cherry, Cherry
  • 15.Kentucky Woman
  • 16.Solitary Man
  • 17.Glory Road
  • 18.Chelsea Morning
  • 19.I'm A Believer
  • 20.Happy Birthday Rose
  • 21.Cracklin' Rosie
  • 22.And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  • 23.Pretty Amazing Grace
  • 24.We
  • 25.Stones
  • 26.You Don't Bring Me Flowers
  • 27.Holly Holy
  • 28.Morningside
  • 29.Crunchy Granola Suite
  • 30.Sweet Caroline
  • 31.Sweet Caroline (Reprise)
  • 32.I Am... I Said
  • 33.Walk Off
  • 34.America
  • 35.Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show
  • 36.I've Been This Way Before
  • 37.Walk Off
  • 38.Band Bows
  • 39.Audience Exit
  • 40.Behind the Scenes

Product Description:

Personnel: Neil Diamond (vocals); Doug Rhone, Hadley Hockensmith (guitar); Gayle Levant (harp); Brian Benning, Anatoly Rosinsky, Johana Krejci, Shari Zippert, Sally Berman, Michael Ferril, Dennis Molchan, Norm Hughes, Francine Walsh, Alex Gorlovsky, Assa Drory, Berj Garabedian (violin); Caroline Buckman, Elizabeth Wilson , Harry Shirinian, Robert Berg (viola); Maurice Grants, Matthew Cooker, Miguel Martinez, Steve Richards (cello); Don Markese (flute, clarinet, saxophone); Larry Klimas (harmonica, accordion, saxophone); John Fumo (trumpet, flugelhorn); Arturo Velasco (trombone, euphonium); Tom Hensley (piano); Alan Lindgren (keyboards); Ron Tutt (drums); King Errisson (percussion); Maxine Waters, Linda Press, Julia Waters (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Stanley Miller; Bernie Becker.
Liner Note Authors: Steve Appleford; Melinda Newman.
Recording information: The Greek Theatre, Los Angeles, CA (08/2012).
Director: Kerry Asmussen.
Editor: Guy Harding.
Photographer: Ari Michelson.
Hot August Night III documents a concert Neil Diamond held at the Los Angeles Greek Theatre upon the 40th anniversary of Hot August Night in 2012. It was a glitzy celebration that bordered on a marathon: on record, which was released six years later, it runs a mammoth two and a half hours. Considering how Hot August Night III arrived several months after Diamond announced he was retiring from the road due to his diagnosis with Parkinson's disease, it's hard not to see this live album as valedictory. While he may have toured over the subsequent five years, this performance -- crafted as a career-topper and delivered with gusto -- finds Diamond not only in fine voice, but enthusiastic. He runs through all his standards, which fill up the length of nearly the entire set, and he sounds nearly as vigorous as he did back in 1987, when Hot August Night II hit the stores. If this can be faulted, it's because the performance is perhaps a little bit too professional: it's clear that Diamond and his band have performed these songs countless times, so the energy comes solely from Neil's excitement at being in front of an audience eager to celebrate their long history with him. Now that nights like that are no longer a possibility, this kind of big, splashy production is not only entertaining, it's somewhat poignant, too. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 602567449683
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)