Joss Stone The Soul Sessions, Volume 2 [Deluxe Edition]

Get email alerts for Joss Stone
31 ratings
Price: $18.10
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $0.88 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  JYRQ
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 31, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: S-Curve Records


  • 1.I Got The...
  • 2.(For God's Sake) Give More Power to the People
  • 3.While You're Out Looking for Sugar
  • 4.Sideway Shuffle
  • 5.I Don't Want to Be with Nobody But You
  • 6.Teardrops
  • 7.Stoned Out of My Mind
  • 8.Love We Had, The (Stays on My Mind)
  • 9.The High Road
  • 10.Pillow Talk
  • 11.Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
  • 12.First Taste of Hurt
  • 13.One Love in My Lifetime
  • 14.Nothing Takes the Place of You
  • 15.(1-2-3-4-5-6-7) Count the Days

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Steve Greenwell.
Recording information: Blackbird Studio, Nashville, TN; Sear Sound, New York, NY; Sono Studios, Prague, Czech Republic; Stevestudio, New York, NY.
Photographers: Charles Allen Smith; David Venni; Daniel Slezinger.
Joss Stone launched her career by singing soul standards so when it came time for a reboot she went back to the beginning, dusting off the old blueprint for The Soul Sessions and following it to a T, right down to replicating its title and giving a contemporary alt-rock hit a soul makeover. First time around, the intent was to prove that teenage Joss had soul bona fides, but in 2012 the purpose of The Soul Sessions, Vol. 2 is to signal how she's done messing around with fleeting fashions and is getting back down to the real business. Stone doesn't dig deep into the crates this time around, nor does she stick to deep soul; she chooses to mine hits from the early '70s, favoring songs by the Dells, the Chi-Lites, and Sylvia, giving these smooth tunes a bit of a polished Southern spin. And "professional" is the operative word here: this is the work of seasoned veterans who play with every note falling neatly into place, stretching just enough to show off their chops but never enough to alter the DNA of a song. The exception to the rule is, of course, "The High Road," a Broken Bells song refashioned to sound old, thereby occupying the same space as Joss' White Stripes "Fell in Love with a Boy" cover did on the first Soul Sessions. This is the song to prove that Stone isn't living in the past but rather she's seeing the future through a retro prism that turns everything into something that feels classic. That Stone remains a bit too theatrical a singer, overemphasizing every phrase, is almost besides the point, as she's a diva and is expected to sing with more gusto than the song requires just as long as the overall package feels right. And, for the most part, The Soul Sessions, Vol. 2 does feel right: it has the form and sound of classic soul while never acknowledging that R&B continued to develop past, say, 1972. For an audience that agrees with that thesis, this is fun. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 98,157
  • UPC: 807315210229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)