Jimmie Rodgers Recordings 1927-1933 (5-CD)

Recordings 1927-1933 (5-CD)
Get email alerts for Jimmie Rodgers
27 ratings
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $1.89 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  Q8J8
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: September 23, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: JSP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Soldier's Sweetheart
  • 2.Sleep, Baby Sleep
  • 3.Ben Dewberry's Final Run
  • 4.Mother Was a Lady
  • 5.Blue Yodel
  • 6.Away Out on the Mountain
  • 7.Dear Old Sunny South by the Sea
  • 8.Treasures Untold
  • 9.The Brakeman's Blues
  • 10.The Sailor's Plea
  • 11.In the Jailhouse Now
  • 12.Blue Yodel #2
  • 13.Memphis Yodel
  • 14.Blue Yodel #3
  • 15.My Old Pal
  • 16.My Little Old Home Down in New Orleans
  • 17.You and My Old Guitar
  • 18.Daddy and Home
  • 19.My Little Lady
  • 20.Lullaby Yodel
  • 21.Never No Mo' Blues
  • 22.My Carolina Sunshine Girl
  • 23.Blue Yodel #4

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Waiting For a Train
  • 2.I'm Lonely and Blue
  • 3.Desert Blues
  • 4.Any Old Time
  • 5.Blue Yodel #5
  • 6.High Powered Mama
  • 7.I'm Sorry We Met
  • 8.Everybody Does It in Hawaii
  • 9.Tuck Away My Lonesome Blues
  • 10.Train Whistle Blues
  • 11.Jimmie's Texas Blues
  • 12.Frankie and Johnnie
  • 13.Whisper Your Mother's Name
  • 14.The Land of My Boyhood Dreams
  • 15.Blue Yodel #6
  • 16.Yodeling Cowboy
  • 17.My Rough and Rowdy Ways
  • 18.I've Ranged, I've Roamed, I've Traveled
  • 19.Hobo Bill's Last Ride
  • 20.Mississippi River Blues
  • 21.Nobody Knows But Me
  • 22.Anniversary Blue Yodel
  • 23.She Was Happy till She Met You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Blue Yodel #11
  • 2.A Drunkard's Child
  • 3.That's Why I'm Blue
  • 4.Why Did You Give Me Your Love?
  • 5.My Blue Eyed Jane
  • 6.Why Should I Be Lonely
  • 7.Moonlight and Skies
  • 8.Pistol Packin' Papa
  • 9.Take Me Back Again
  • 10.Those Gambler's Blues
  • 11.I'm Lonesome Too
  • 12.The One Rose
  • 13.For the Sake of Days Gone By
  • 14.Jimmie's Mean Mamma Blues
  • 15.The Mystery of Number Five
  • 16.Blue Yodel #8
  • 17.In the Jailhouse Now #2
  • 18.Blue Yodel #9
  • 19.TB Blues
  • 20.Travelin' Blues
  • 21.Jimmie the Kid
  • 22.Why There's a Tear in My Eye
  • 23.The Wonderful City

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Let Me Be Your Sidetrack
  • 2.Jimmie Rodgers Visits the Carter Family
  • 3.The Carter Family and Jimmie Rodgers in Texas
  • 4.When the Cactus Is in Bloom
  • 5.Gambling Polka Dot Blues
  • 6.Looking For a New Mama
  • 7.What Is It?
  • 8.My Good Gal's Gone Blues
  • 9.Southern Cannon Ball
  • 10.Roll Along Kentucky Moon
  • 11.Hobo's Meditation
  • 12.Ninety Nine Years Blues
  • 13.Mississippi Moon
  • 14.Down the Old Road to Home
  • 15.Blue Yodel #10
  • 16.Home Call
  • 17.Mother, The Queen of My Heart
  • 18.Rock All Our Babies to Sleep
  • 19.Whippin' That Old TB

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.No Hard Times
  • 2.Long Tall Mama Blues
  • 3.Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
  • 4.Gambling Bar Room Blues
  • 5.I've Only Loved Three Women
  • 6.In the Hills of Tennessee
  • 7.Prairie Lullaby
  • 8.Miss the Mississippi and You
  • 9.Sweet Mama Hurry Home
  • 10.Blue Yodel #12
  • 11.Dreaming With Tears in My Eyes
  • 12.The Cowhand's Last Ride
  • 13.I'm Free - (from "The Chain Gang Now")
  • 14.Yodeling My Way Back Home
  • 15.Jimmie Rodgers' Last Blue Yodel
  • 16.The Yodeling Ranger
  • 17.Old Pal of My Heart
  • 18.Old Love Letters
  • 19.Mississippi Delta Blues
  • 20.Somewhere Down Below the Mason Dixon Line
  • 21.Years Ago

Product Description:

Personnel: Jimmie Rodgers (vocals, guitar, ukulele); Mother Maybelle Carter (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Sara Carter (vocals, guitar); Robert MacGimsey (whistling); John Cali (guitar, steel guitar, banjo); Billy Burkes (guitar, steel guitar); Weldon Burkes (guitar, ukulele); Fred Smith , Slim Bryant, M. Salazar, Dean Bryan, Julian R. Ninde, Tony Colicchio, Lani McIntire, Fred Koone, Wilber Ball, Bill Boyd, Cal Smith (guitar); Ellsworth T. Cozzens (steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, ukulele); Cliff Carlisle, Joe Kaipo, John Westbrook, Charles Kama, Dick Bunyard (steel guitar); Oddie McWinders (banjo); Red Young (mandolin); Clayton McMichen, Clifford Hayes, Alvin Alley, Shelly Lee Alley (fiddle); James Rikard, George Allen (clarinet); Louis Armstrong (trumpet); C.L. Hutchison (cornet); Bob Sawyer, Ruth Ann Moore, Lil Hardin (piano).
Liner Note Author: Drew Kent.
Recording information: Atlanta, GA (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); Bristol, TN (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); Camden, NJ (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); Dallas, TX (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); Hollywood, CA (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); Louisville, KY (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); New York, NY (08/24/1927-08/29/1932); San Antonio, TX (08/24/1927-08/29/1932).
JSP's mammoth five-disc collection of Jimmie Rodgers Recordings 1927-1933 boasts 110 remastered tracks (pretty much everything he ever recorded) from the legendary yodeling country crooner. Listeners looking for a saner take on Rodgers career should check out 2002's 17-track RCA Country Legends. ~ James Christopher Monger
JSP Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,984
  • UPC: 788065770426
  • Shipping Weight: 1.01/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)