Sergio Mendes Bom Tempo

Get email alerts for Sergio Mendes
11 ratings
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $6 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZNLX 31575
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 1, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Concord Music Group, Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.64
"BOM TEMPO is an unabashedly contemporary creation that pays homage to the retro....It's cuts like the cool samba 'Orpheus' and the smooth-grooving 'Caxanga,' featuring a vocal and acoustic guitar by author Milton Nasciemento, that invite replay."
Billboard (p.28) - "On the set, the bandleader known for his blend of Brazilian bossa nova, roots rhythms and pop again proves to be a master of fusion, mixing sounds, languages and notable collaborators as few can."


  • 1.Emorio (Ft. Nayanna Holley & Carlinhos Brown)
  • 2.Maracatu Atomico (Ft. Seu Jorge)
  • 3.You And I
  • 4.Ye-Me-Le
  • 5.Magalenha (Ft. Carlinhos Brown)
  • 6.Orpheus (Quiet Carnival)
  • 7.Pais Tropical
  • 8.Maracatu (Nation Of Love) (Ft. Seu Jorge & Gracinha Leporace)
  • 9.The Real Thing (Ft. Katie Hampton)
  • 10.Caminhos Cruzados (Ft. Gracinha Leporace)
  • 11.Caxanga (Ft. Milton Nascimento)
  • 12.Só Tinha De Ser Com Você (Ft. Gracinha Leporace

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Darius Fong.
Recording information: Cybersound Studio, Boston, MA (2009); House Of Blues Studio, Encino, CA (2009); Scott Frankfurt Studio, Woodland Hills, CA (2009).
Sergio Mendes takes (a few more) chances on Bon Tempo, his third release for Concord since 2006, all the while stepping concertedly toward the urban market in the same way that Brasil 66 shot at the heart of the pop market nearly half a century ago. Mendes produced the set himself and enlisted the talents of both Brazilian and American musicians. His element of risk comes in the form of using the songs of Brazilian composers almost exclusively -- both classic and modern -- and in some cases, radically re-interpreting them for a decidedly non-Brazilian market. One such example is in the opening re-creation of of Gilberto Gil's and Joao Donato's "Emorio," and making it a driving, synthetically funky dancefloor heater. Featuring lead vocals by Nayanna Holley and a rap from Carlinhos Brown (whose presence on the album is pronounced) it employs "elements" (samples) of Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Surfboard," and Mendes' own signature recording of "Mas Que Nada." The layers of synths by Mikael Mutti nearly offset the fine Brazilian rhythmic invention. Mendes takes a fine piano solo, but the effect is strange nonetheless. "Maracatu Atomico" with Seu Jorge on vocals is a little less so, even when the twisting, angular clavinet solo turns the piece toward funky hip-hop. Holley and Brown re-team on the latter's "You and I." This is simply an urban tune with a couple of carnival rhythms tossed into the dancefloor thump. The sheen on Jobim's "S¢ Tinha de Ser Com Vocˆ," with vocals by Gracinha Leporace, is disquieting but nonetheless recognizable, and it may resonate with contemporary jazz fans. Other tunes are (a little) more traditional, such as Moacir Santos' lovely "Maracatu (Nation of Love)" and Jobim's "Caminhos Cruzados," with a beautiful vocal by Leporace and sparse, elegant Rhodes work by Mendes. The lone cover on the set is of Stevie Wonder's "The Real Thing" with vocals by Katie Hampton. With its cut-time house rhythm, layers of keyboards, and bright horn section, it works, and it should at urban radio as well. As another experiment in Mendes' catalog, this set may indeed bring listeners initially attracted by contemporary production and hypnotic dance rhythms to the rich melodic and polyrhythmic world of Brazilian music through the back door. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,539
  • UPC: 888072315754
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)