The Cruel Sea The Honeymoon Is Over

Get email alerts for The Cruel Sea
10+ ratings
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $20.01 (80% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  ZNL 14870
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 24, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Universal Int'l

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/23/95, p.124
3.5 Stars - Very Good - "...Like its fellow Aussie outfit INXS, this band combines an obvious love for the Stones' seminal raunch rock with a penchant for glamour..."


  • 1.Orleans Stomp
  • 2.The Honeymoon Is Over
  • 3.Delivery Man
  • 4.The Right Time
  • 5.Black Stick
  • 6.Sly Din
  • 7.Naked Flame
  • 8.Woman with Soul
  • 9.Seems Twice
  • 10.Better Than Love
  • 11.X-N-Pop
  • 12.Let's Lay Down Here and Make Love
  • 13.Blame It on the Moon

Product Description:

The Cruel Sea includes: Tex Perkins (vocals), Danny Rumour (guitar), James Cruickshank (keyboards).
Personnel: James Cruickshank (vocals, guitar, electric guitar, keyboards, percussion); Tex Perkins (vocals); Danny Rumour (guitar, electric guitar, percussion); Ross Hannaford (guitar); Mick Harvey (xylophone, tambourine); Ken Gormly (electric bass); Ken Gormley (bass guitar, percussion); Jim Elliot (drums, percussion); Geoff Hales (percussion).
Recording information: Atlantis, Melbourne, Australia (1992-1993); Metropolis, Melbourne, Australia (1992-1993); Planet, Perth, Australia (1992-1993).
Editor: David Macquarie.
Photographers: Tex Perkins; Kristyna Higgins.
The Honeymoon Is Over by the Australian five-piece band the Cruel Sea blends organic, rootsy instrumentation with clever, well-written lyrics to produce an album that is a joy from start to finish. Produced by the band with Tony Cohen lending a hand, the record hails its entrance with the instrumental "Orleans Stomp," a Cajun-influenced cut complete with bluesy organ and xylophone. Lead singer Tex Perkins finally unleashes his vocals on the title track. His deep, weathered baritone is the perfect delivery for this kiss-off song including the wry lyric, "Gonna send you back from wherever the hell it was you came, then I'm gonna get this tattoo changed to another girl's name." The remainder of the album mixes more loose-groove instrumentals with other standout cuts like "Delivery Man," a bracing slab of double entendre blues-rock and "Let's Lay Down Here & Make Love" with a slight reggae lilt that makes the song playful. It is impossible not to sway your hips to the Cruel Sea's infectious grooves and equally as difficult not to chuckle aloud at the wry lyrical observations of their lyrics. A true delight. ~ Tom Demalon
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • UPC: 731451487026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)